Suggested Search Terms:
leadership, leaders, leadership style(s), leadership qualities, leadership responsibility
Related: executives, executive ability, management
Biographies:
-
Great American Business Leaders of the 20th CenturyThe database was compiled in an effort to identify and chronicle the lives of 20th century men and women whose business leadership shaped the ways that people live, work, and interact. Profiles over 1,000 CEOs and founders of U.S. companies and includes birthdate, race, company, years of employment, and a biography.
Leadership Reference Resources:
-
Encyclopedia of Leadership
by
ISBN: 076192597XPublication Date: 2004"The Encyclopedia of Leadership brings everything that is known about leadership as part of the human experience. It includes 400 articles that deal with biographical studies, case studies, genes issues, and leadership theories, concepts, and practices, written by 280 leading scholars and experts from 17 countries." -
The Encyclopedia of Leadership
by
ISBN: 0071363084Publication Date: 2000"Quick reference guide to over 200 leadership principles, theories, tools and techniques in the organizational world. It helps to find brief summaries of various important leadership ideas including the basic competencies and practices of successful leaders; finding the best leadership technique for the situation; and, leading groups and teams." -
Elgar Encyclopedia of Leadership
by
ISBN: 1035307065Publication Date: 2025"Key Features: 138 entries from Adaptive Leadership to Zero-Tolerance Leadership, covering a wide range of leadership theories, models, and practices, providing an in-depth understanding of the field. Contributions from 50 leading scholars and practitioners offer diverse and international viewpoints on leadership." -
The SAGE Handbook of Leadership, 2nd ed.
by
ISBN: 9781529769067Publication Date: 2023"The Second Edition of The SAGE Handbook of Leadership provides not only an in-depth overview the current field of leadership studies, but also a map into the future debates, innovations and priorities of where the field will move to. Featuring all new chapters from a global community of leading and emerging scholars, each chapter offers a comprehensive, critical overview of an aspect of leadership, a discussion of key debates and research, and a review of the emerging issues in its area. Featuring an innovative structure divided by prepositions, this brand-new edition moves away from essentializing boundaries, and instead seeks to create synergies between different schools of leadership. A key feature of the second edition, is the attention to sensemaking (exploring the current themes, structures and ideas that comprise each topic) and sensebreaking (disrupting, critiquing and refreshing each topic). Suitable for students and researchers alike."
-
University of Michigan Sanger Leadership Center Evidenced-Based Leader Behavior EncyclopediaDesigned to help students and researchers identify evidence-based leader behaviors from the top scholarly journals.
-
Amazon Bestsellers: Leadership and MotivationKeep evergreen about the latest leadership trending (trendy?) titles by following the money from Amazon customers.
-
Harvard Business Review Store: 25 of the Best Leadership Books to ReadA curated list of 25 of the Harvard Business Review's bestselling leadership books.
Leadership Periodicals:
-
Academic Management Perspectives"The Academy of Management Perspectives (AMP) publishes articles and symposia that address important issues concerning management and business."
-
Journal of Leadership and Organizational Studies"The purpose of JLOS is to publish research aimed at helping us understand and predict effective leadership – leadership of people, groups, and organizations. JLOS continuously renews and reinvigorates leadership scholarship, practice and policy by promoting forward thinking scholarship."
-
Journal of Leadership Studies"Launched in 2007, the mission of the Journal of Leadership Studies is to publish leadership research and theoretical contributions that bridge the gap between scholarship and practice and that exemplify critical inquiry into contemporary organizational issues and paradigms."
-
Leadership"Leadership is an international, peer-reviewed journal designed to provide an ongoing forum for academic researchers to exchange information, insights and knowledge based on both theoretical development and empirical research on leadership."
-
The Leadership QuarterlyPublished by the International Leadership Association, and in conjunction with Elsevier, for scholars, consultants, practicing managers, executives and administrators. Includes leadership research and applications that have a global reach.
Leadership Websites:
-
Harvard Business School (Working Knowledge): LeadershipHarvard Business School’s Working Knowledge site includes a number of business topic sections including Leadership and Management. Articles for practitioners are highlighted; working papers and podcasts are available. Searches can be made by topic or by industry. The “First Look” section gives readers a weekly post summarizing new case studies, working papers and other publications.
-
University of Michigan Ross Business School Sanger Leadership Center Research Lab"To support the development of leadership scholarship, the lab provides an inclusive community for scholars from across the university (representing fields from medicine, psychology, marketing, management, and more) to share and receive feedback on early-stage research."
Leadership Associations & Organizations:
-
The Aspen Institute"The Aspen Institute is an educational and policy studies organization based in Washington, DC. Its mission is to foster leadership based on enduring values and to provide a nonpartisan venue for dealing with critical issues."
-
Center for Creative LeadershipAims to advance the understanding, practice, and development of leadership for the benefit of society worldwide.
-
Drucker Institute at Claremont Graduate UniversityIncludes a collection of articles and media by or about management pioneer Peter Drucker.
Leadership Ideas and Trends
AI AND LEADERSHIP: A plethora of emerging content is available and rapidly changing, to the extent that provision of links seems unwise. Content categories include professional education courses from AACSB schools, equivalent opportunities via major consulting firms like Deloitte, and an explosion of book titles available from the Harvard Business Review Store and elsewhere, such as The AI-Driven Leader: Harnessing AI to Make Faster, Smarter Decisions (2024). Universities now begin to offer AI degrees at both the undergraduate and graduate levels that include leadership/management course requirements or electives. Meanwhile, new and AI-focused consulting groups jostle for clients with promises of leadership competitive advantage. At some point, one might expect the business use of AI to become mainstreamed such that parsing out AI and leadership becomes unnecessary.
SERVANT LEADERSHIP: The phrase "servant leadership" was first used in "The Servant Leader" an essay by Robert K. Greenleaf published in 1970. In this essay, Greenleaf explains, "A servant-leader focuses primarily on the growth and well-being of people and the communities to which they belong. While traditional leadership generally involves the accumulation and exercise of power by one at the “top of the pyramid,” servant leadership is different. The servant-leader shares power, puts the needs of others first and helps people develop and perform as highly as possible." (Greenleaf, 1970).
Resources:
- Robert K. Greenleaf Center for Servant Leadership at Seton Hall University: https://www.greenleaf.org/
- International Journal of Servant Leadership
- Greenleaf, R.K. (1998). The Power of Servant Leadership (L.C. Spears, Ed.). Berrett-Koehler Publishers. https://www.amazon.com/Power-Servant-Leadership-Robert-K-Greenleaf/dp/1576750353
