Contact:
Guide Editor
The Committee reviews this guide on a three-year cycle. To report broken links, please send an email to rusa@ala.org and put “BRASS Education Committee” in the subject line.
Last reviewed: July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023
Next Review: 2024-2025
Scope of the Guide:
Management can be defined as "the organization and coordination of the activities of a business in order to achieve defined objectives" (BusinessDictionary.com).
It is an interdisciplinary field that draws upon business concepts and ideas from: marketing, economics, finance, insurance, transportation, accounting, computer technologies, information systems, engineering, and business law. In addition, mathematics, philosophy, sociology, and psychology have broad influence. Business reference for management researchers will tend to focus on navigating the relevant literature (scholarly, trade, and popular); however, needs can vary widely.
This guide provides resource suggestions for general management as well as for sub-topical areas of interest (business communications, innovation, leadership, and strategy) for managers.
Suggested Search Terms:
management, manager(s), administration
Narrower: executives, personnel management, supervision
Related: mismanagement, toxic leadership, change management, crisis management, project management, total quality management (TQM), strategic management, management accounting, management controls
Trending: servant leadership
General Management Reference Books:
Management Fundamentals by
Skillful management is essential to the functioning of any organization. But what are the fundamental elements of a manager's work? What tools and techniques can managers employ to achieve their goals? At a time when organizations must work across sectors, between farther physical distances, and while interweaving sustainability and equity, what do managers need to know about the changing nature of work and leadership? This book is a succinct handbook of the essentials of management for current and future practitioners. Leadership experts Steven Cohen and William Eimicke concisely explain management best practices, aiming to equip managers with the tools of the trade and prepare them to tackle decision making. They detail three core areas of practice: operations, opportunities, and organization and society, underscoring how ethical and strategic guidance and behaviors are essential to sustainable success. The book delves into the leadership role of managers, financial management skills, performance management essentials, organizational structure and human resources management, strategic planning, sustainability, contract management, private-public partnerships, public engagement and advertisement, organizational ethics, and the future of technology for management professionals. Designed for new managers as a roadmap and for experienced managers as a reference, this book offers an indispensable guide to the fundamental components of management across public, private, and social-sector organizations.
ISBN: 9780231194488Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Management by
Encyclopedia of Management (EoM) provides authoritative information on the ever-changing field of business management. This comprehensive resource explores hundreds of topics in management theory and application, from balance sheets to virtual organizations.
Perfect for students, business owners, and entrepreneurs as well as marketing professionals and general researchers studying business and economics, this respected resource features more than 300 detailed essays. Essays include cross-references to allow users to quickly access information and explore related concepts. EoM, 7th edition was published in 2012.
ISBN: 1410389367Publication Date: 2019
The Oxford Handbook of Management Ideas by
Management ideas, and their associated applications, have become a prevalent feature of our working lives. While their focus is familiar, such as efficiency, motivation, and improvement, they range from specific notions such as activity-based costing, to broad movements like corporate socialresponsibility. This Handbook brings together some of the latest research from leading international scholars on how management ideas are produced, promoted, and adapted, and their effects on business and working practices and society at large.Rather than focusing on specific management ideas, this volume explores their key socio-political contexts and channels of dissemination, and is organized around four core overlapping themes. The first section sets out the research field in general, in terms of both an overall system and ofdifferent perspectives and research methods. The second section explores the role of different actors and channels of diffusion, including the consumers and producers of management ideas and "new" media, as well as traditional players in the management ideas field such as consultancies and businessschools. The third section focuses on specific features or dynamics of the management ideas system, such as their adoption, evolution, institutionalisation, and resurgence, while in the final section, critical and new perspectives on management ideas are examined, highlighting specificsocio-political contexts and the possibility of alternative ideas and forms of critique.With a broad range of perspectives represented, this Handbook provides a comprehensive, authoritative, and enduring resource for those studying management, innovation, and organizational change, as well as for those working in the management ideas industry.
ISBN: 9780198794219Publication Date: 2019
Principles of Management by
Principles of Management is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the introductory course on management. This is a traditional approach to management using the leading, planning, organizing, and controlling approach. Management is a broad business discipline, and the Principles of Management course covers many management areas such as human resource management and strategic management, as well as behavioral areas such as motivation. No one individual can be an expert in all areas of management, so an additional benefit of this text is that specialists in a variety of areas have authored individual chapters.
ISBN: 9780998625768Publication Date: 2019
A Dictionary of Business and Management by
This wide-ranging and authoritative dictionary contains over 7,100 entries covering all areas of business and management, including marketing, organizational behaviour, business strategy, law, and taxation. In its sixth edition, it features the very latest developments, such as those relatingto information technology (including mobile technology), and the financial crisis and the subsequent sovereign debt crisis. Entries have been updated to refer to recent events and news in the field, for example the LIBOR scandal.Over 100 new entries have been added including bitcoin, Cog's Ladder, mobile commerce, Six Sigma, social media, theory of institutional deficiencies, and zero-hours contract. Furthermore, there is expanded coverage of areas such as financial regulation and corporate social responsibility, with anumber of new entries offering insight into these topics, including aw-shucks defence and Financial Conduct Authority.The new edition of this established bestselling dictionary elucidates modern financial and management jargon, defining entries in a clear, concise, and accessible manner. With recommended web links for many entries, accessible and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Business and Managementcompanion website, this edition is more informative than ever. This A--Z reference work is essential for business students, teachers and professionals, and useful for anyone needing a guide to business terminology.
ISBN: 9780199684984Publication Date: 2016
Wiley Encyclopedia of Management by
Now in its third edition, this multi-volume Encyclopedia of Management, has been revised and updated to chart the major developments that have occurred in: digital technologies; ethics and governance-related issues; innovation; emerging markets; organizational networks; and new avenues of sustainable business growth. Provides comprehensive coverage of the field of management in one a landmark work of reference for scholars, students and professionals Now features two entirely new volumes on Technology & Innovation and Management Research Methodology The online edition links to the wider literature and to handbooks and journals in the field 14 Volumes www.wiley.com/go/weom New to this edition: Technology & Innovation Management , Volume 13, V K Narayanan & Gina O'Connor. The encyclopedia is available online through Wiley Online Library, a major database of Journals, Handbooks and reference in the field. Volume Subjects and Editors: Accounting, Volume 1, Colin Clubb & Shahed Imam Business Ethics, Volume 2, Ronald James & team, with Kenneth Goodpaster Entrepreneurship, Volume 3, Michael Morris & Don Kuratko Finance, Volume 4, Krishna Paudyal HRM, Volume 5, David Guest & David Needle International Management, Volume 6, Markus Vodosek & Deanne Hertog Management Information Systems, Volume 7, Detmar Straub & Richard Welke Managerial Economics, Volume 8, Robert McAuliffe Marketing, Volume 9, Nick Lee & Andrew M. Farrell Operations Management, Volume 10, Dr Sinéad Roden, Mike Lewis & Nigel Slack Organizational Behavior, Volume 11, Patrick C. Flood & Yseult Freeney Strategic Management, Volume 12, John McGee & Tanya Sammut-Bonnici Technology & Innovation, Volume 13, V K Narayanan & Gina O'Connor
ISBN: 9781119972518Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Management Theory by
In discussing a management topic, scholars, educators, practitioners, and the media often toss out the name of a theorist (Taylor, Simon, Weber) or make a sideways reference to a particular theory (bureaucracy, total quality management, groupthink) and move on, as if assuming their audience possesses the necessary background to appreciate and integrate the reference. This is often far from the case. Individuals are frequently forced to seek out a hodgepodge of sources varying in quality and presentation to provide an overview of a particular idea. This work is designed to serve as a core reference for anyone interested in the essentials of contemporary management theory. Drawing together a team of international scholars, it examines the global landscape of the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses to thoughtfully apply them.
ISBN: 9781412997829Publication Date: 2013
International Encyclopedia of Business and Management by
Contains 750 entries on international management and management education topics for students and faculty in higher education. Interdisciplinary concepts come from psychology, sociology, mathematics, computer engineering, political science, and economics.
ISBN: 1861521618Publication Date: 2002
General Management Books:
HBR Guide to Being a Great Boss by
Are you a good boss--or a great one? Good bosses can handle the day-to-day work of running a team. Great bosses go beyond that, finding ways to help employees become better versions of themselves as people and professionals. But as a manager, how do you reach that next level? The HBR Guide to Being a Great Boss contains practical tips and advice to help you become a more well-rounded leader, one who sparks creativity, engagement, collaboration, and growth in your team. You'll learn how to: Magnify your people's strengths Create a welcoming, inclusive culture Communicate effectively--and regularly--with your team Challenge your people to grow beyond their current limits Recognize and reward good work Establish yourself as a trustworthy leader and colleague Arm yourself with the advice you need to succeed on the job, with the most trusted brand in business. Packed with how-to essentials from leading experts, the HBR Guides provide smart answers to your most pressing work challenges.
ISBN: 1647822343Publication Date: 2022
HBR's 10 Must Reads 2022: the Definitive Management Ideas of the Year from Harvard Business Review (with Bonus Article Begin with Trust by Frances X. Frei and Anne Morriss) by
A year's worth of management wisdom, all in one place. We've reviewed the ideas, insights, and best practices from the past year of Harvard Business Review to keep you up-to-date on the most cutting-edge, influential thinking driving business today. With authors from Frances Frei to Morton T. Hansen and company examples from UPS to Apple, this volume brings the most current and important management conversations right to your fingertips. This book will inspire you to: Build trust—the most essential form of capital a leader has Adopt the best practices for hybrid work Navigate the challenges of workplace anxiety Reconsider your approach to innovation by challenging everyday notions of value Assess whether to team up with a rival and how to manage the relationship Break through the organizational barriers that impede gender and racial equity Lead with a commitment to sustainability This collection of articles includes "Begin with Trust," by Frances Frei and Anne Morriss; "Cultural Innovation," by Douglas Holt; "The Rules of Co-opetition," by Adam Brandenburger and Barry Nalebuff; "Negotiating Your Next Job," by Hannah Riley Bowles and Bobbi Thomason; "Leading Through Anxiety," by Morra Aarons-Mele; "When Machine Learning Goes Off the Rails," by Boris Babic, I. Glenn Cohen, Theodoros Evgeniou, and Sara Gerke; "Getting Serious About Diversity," by Robin J. Ely and David A. Thomas; "How to Promote Racial Equity in the Workplace," by Robert Livingston; "Our Work-from-Anywhere Future," by Prithwiraj Raj) Choudhury; "A More Sustainable Supply Chain," by Veronica H. Villena and Dennis A. Gioia; and "How Apple Is Organized for Innovation," by Joel M. Podolny and Morten T. Hansen. HBR's 10 Must Reads paperback series is the definitive collection of books for new and experienced leaders alike. Leaders looking for the inspiration that big ideas provide, both to accelerate their own growth and that of their companies, should look no further. HBR's 10 Must Reads series focuses on the core topics that every ambitious manager needs to know: leadership, strategy, change, managing people, and managing yourself. Harvard Business Review has sorted through hundreds of articles and selected only the most essential reading on each topic. Each title includes timeless advice that will be relevant regardless of an ever‐changing business environment.
ISBN: 1647822130Publication Date: 2021
HBR Guide to Data Analytics Basics for Managers (HBR Guide Series) by
Don't let a fear of numbers hold you back. Today's business environment brings with it an onslaught of data. Now more than ever, managers must know how to tease insight from data--to understand where the numbers come from, make sense of them, and use them to inform tough decisions. How do you get started? Whether you're working with data experts or running your own tests, you'll find answers in the HBR Guide to Data Analytics Basics for Managers. This book describes three key steps in the data analysis process, so you can get the information you need, study the data, and communicate your findings to others. You'll learn how to: Identify the metrics you need to measure Run experiments and A/B tests Ask the right questions of your data experts Understand statistical terms and concepts Create effective charts and visualizations Avoid common mistakes
ISBN: 9781633694286Publication Date: 2018
HBR's 10 Must Reads for New Managers (with Bonus Article How Managers Become Leaders by Michael D. Watkins) (HBR's 10 Must Reads) by
Develop the mindset and presence to successfully manage others for the first time. If you read nothing else on becoming a new manager, read these 10 articles. We've combed through hundreds of Harvard Business Review articles and selected the most important ones to help you transition from being an outstanding individual contributor to becoming a great manager of others. This book will inspire you to: Develop your emotional intelligence Influence your colleagues through the science of persuasion Assess your team and enhance its performance Network effectively to achieve business goals and for personal advancement Navigate relationships with employees, bosses, and peers Get support from above View the big picture in your decision making Balance your team's work and personal life in a high-intensity workplace This collection of articles includes "Becoming the Boss," by Linda A. Hill; "Leading the Team You Inherit," by Michael D. Watkins; "Saving Your Rookie Managers from Themselves," by Carol A. Walker; "Managing the High-Intensity Workplace," by Erin Reid and Lakshmi Ramarajan; "Harnessing the Science of Persuasion," Robert B. Cialdini; "What Makes a Leader?" by Daniel Goleman; "The Authenticity Paradox," by Herminia Ibarra; "Managing Your Boss," by John J. Gabarro and John P. Kotter; "How Leaders Create and Use Networks," by Herminia Ibarra and Mark Lee Hunter; "Management Time: Who's Got the Monkey?" by William Oncken, Jr., and Donald L. Wass; and BONUS ARTICLE: "How Managers Become Leaders," by Michael D. Watkins.
ISBN: 1633693023Publication Date: 2017
Popular management authors:
General Management Periodicals:
- Academy of Management JournalEmpirical research journal in management, with articles on organizational behavior, human resources, strategy, and organizational theory. Indexed in several EBSCO, Gale, and ProQuest products.
- Administrative Science Quarterly (ASQ)Owned and managed by the Samuel Curtis Johnson Graduate School of Management at Cornell University. This top-tier journal regularly publishes the best theoretical and empirical papers based on dissertations and on the evolving and new work of more established scholars, as well as interdisciplinary work in organizational theory, and informative book reviews.
- Harvard Business ReviewIncludes articles, best practices, book reviews, and case studies on communication, finance and accounting, global business, innovation and entrepreneurship, leadership, management, organizational development, sales and marketing, strategy and execution, and technology and operations. Indexed from 1922-present in EBSCO's Business Source products.
- Knowledge@WhartonThe online business journal of the Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania, provides articles free for 30 days, additional reading suggestions based on the selected article, podcasts with edited print transcripts, links to additional resources and free membership registration that enables receipt of the newsletter.
- MIT Sloan Management ReviewArticles written for academics, business executives, and thought leaders on all areas of management, including corporate strategy, leadership, management of technology, and innovation.
- Organization SciencePublishes fundamental research about organizations and their processes, structures, technologies, identities, forms, and people. Multidisciplinary, including strategic management.
- Wall Street JournalLeading international financial newspaper. Some content freely available online. The Eastern edition is indexed in Factiva from 1979.
Databases for Finding General Management Articles:
The following resources are subscription databases that can be used to search for general management articles. Check your public or academic library to see if they subscribe to these databases.
- ABI/Inform or ProQuest One Business (ProQuest)Useful for retrieving articles on strategic business and management issues. Provides coverage of business conditions, management techniques, corporate strategies and trends, and product and competitor information. Coverage varies by specific database (Complete, Global, Research, Trade & Industry, Dateline).
- Business Source (EBSCO)Major competitor to ABI/Inform. Coverage varies by database but all provide access to hundreds, if not thousands, of business publications (peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, regional business, etc.) that cover management topics. Different versions of this database provide increasing number of resources: Elite, Premier, Complete, and the most comprehensive version, Ultimate. Some colleges and universities provide access to an Alumni Edition that contains few sources and a shorter backlog than versions appropriate for undergraduate or graduate school research.
- Factiva (Dow Jones/ProQuest)Provides access to global business news and includes content from top national newspapers, Dow Jones & Reuters newswires, business journals, market research reports, analyst reports, and websites. Content is available from 118 countries and encompasses information from 8,000 sources. Useful for accessing current news that addresses management issues.
- Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academi)A subset of the LexisNexis service that provides access to business, news, and legal information. Search across a vast array of news sources, including journals, newspapers, and wire services. Useful for accessing current news that addresses management issues.
- Sage Business CasesSage Business Cases is a digital collection of business cases tailored to library needs - providing faculty, students, and researchers with unlimited access to move than 5,500 authoritative cases from over 120 countries. Can be searched by discipline (e.g., general business & management) and include teaching notes.
General Management Websites:
- CEOExpressCEOExpress provides quick access to a variety of business topics and resources through a very busy, text-heavy portal page. Four broad categories, Daily news and info, Business research, Office tools and travel and Break time provide links to hundreds of resources. Some resources are free, some offer recommendations and evaluations of resources and others are fee-based websites.
- The Case CentreA diverse range of over 73,300 cases, on all aspects of national and international business and management, are available from The Case Centre. The only place where you can access all the major case collections from leading international business schools.
- Free Management LibraryOver 260 subject categories are broadly grouped with information useful to small and large, for-profit and non-profit, new and well-established enterprises. The library is administered by personnel from Authenticity Consulting, LLC, but content links can be added by readers following the “Community Rules”. Links are provided for reference works, blog indices, tutorials and additional resources.
- Harvard Business School: Working Knowledge (Leadership and Management)Harvard Business School’s Working Knowledge site includes a number of business topic sections including Leadership and Management. Articles for practitioners are highlighted; working papers and podcasts are available. Searches can be made by topic or by industry. The “First Look” section gives readers a weekly post summarizing new case studies, working papers and other publications.
General Management Associations & Organizations:
- Academy of ManagementAOM is primarily a scholarly management association.
- American Management AssociationThe AMA provides resources for professional development, including career resources and certificate programs, podcasts and job posting information.
Other BRASS Guides:
Management subspecialties:
Related topics:
Previously Maintained:
Katherine Howell
Western Kentucky University
Sarah J. Hammill
Florida International University
Andy Spackman
Brigham Young University
Susan Norrisey
University of Virginia
Natasha Arguello
University of Texas at San Antonio
Cheryl McCallips
Pennsylvania State University
Kay Ikuta
Inglewood Public Library (California)
Paul Arrigo
Penn State Shenango Library
Bill Kinyon
Mars Hill College
List originally compiled by:
Judith Faust
California State University at Hayward
