Contact:
Guide Editor
Guide Editor
Guide Editor
Scope
Knowledge Management (KM) is a broad and inter-disciplinary field. It pulls from communications, economics, education, human resources, information science, organizational management, psychology, sociology, and information technology.
There is no consensus on how the terms knowledge and knowledge management are defined, nor on how knowledge differs from data or information.
One view of Knowledge Management comes to us from Firestone & McElroy, who developed a framework for the Knowledge Life Cycle (See Diagram). Their framework includes the knowledge processes listed below. Knowledge management can be viewed as business or organizational practices that are intended to have an impact on these processes:
- Knowledge Production: information acquisition, individual and group learning, knowledge claim formulation, and knowledge claim evaluation
- Knowledge Integration: broadcasting, searching, teaching, and sharing
- Knowledge Use (agents and artifacts)
Key Issues in the New Knowledge Management by
In 'Key Issues in the New Knowledge Management,' Firestone and McElroy, the architects of the New Knowledge Management (TNKM) provide an in-depth analysis of the most important issues in the field of Knowledge Management. The issues the book addresses are central in the field today: * The Knowledge Wars, or the issue of "how you define knowledge determines how you manage it" * The nature of knowledge processing * Information management or knowledge management? * Three views on the evolution of knowledge management * The role of knowledge claim evaluation in knowledge processing, or the difference between opinion, judgements, information, data, and real knowledge in knowledge management systems * Is culture a barrier in knowledge management? * The Open Enterprise and accelerated sustainable innovation * Portals * How should one evaluate KM software? * Intellectual Capital * Measuring the impact of KM initiatives on the organization and the bottom line * KM and terrorism
ISBN: 9780750676557Publication Date: 2011
Search Terms
Due to inclusive nature of the field, academics and practitioners may be interested in a number of topics. The article referenced below includes a breakdown of KM facets (Table 1) and authors (Table 2), which can be used to aid in developing search strategies.
Sample search terms include, but are not limited to:
- business narrative/storytelling
- collaboration
- community of practice (CoP)
- double-loop learning
- expertise management
- innovation
- intellectual capital (human capital, relational capital, social capital)
- knowledge architecture
- knowledge audit
- knowledge economy
- knowledge elicitation/knowledge retention/knowledge loss
- knowledge engineering
- knowledge management
- knowledge organization systems (KOS)
- knowledge representation/semantics
- knowledge sharing
- knowledge worker
- organizational culture
- organizational network analysis (ONA)/social network analysis (SNA)
- organizational learning/learning organization
Source: Bedford, D. A. D. (2012). The role of knowledge management in creating transformational organizations and transformational leaders. Journal of Knowledge Management Practices, 13(4), 1-15. Retrieved from http://www.tlainc.com/articl320.htm
Reference
- Glossary of Knowledge Management (Book Chapter)Serrat, O. (2017). Glossary of knowledge management. In Knowledge solutions: Tools, methods, and approaches to drive organizational performance, 1055-1061.
Knowledge Management: An Interdisciplinary Approach for Business Decisions by ISBN: 9780749494834Publication Date: 2020As knowledge economies become increasingly important around the world, it is essential that organizations are able to transform their knowledge into a competitive advantage. This textbook offers an interdisciplinary approach to knowledge management written specifically for postgraduate students in business and management schools. Knowledge Management presents classic and advanced concepts, models and frameworks using a clear logical structure, which covers building knowledge competence, the knowledge lifecycle, and integration of knowledge management with business decision making. An overall framework illustrates links between chapters and ensures readers can gain a body of actionable knowledge rather than learning isolated, uncontextualized topics.Based on cutting-edge research findings and covering the most advanced IT and IS technologies, this book emphasises the need for knowledge management to span boundaries across organizations, supply chains and partnerships, rather than being limited to individual learning and sharing within businesses. Knowledge Management is international in scope and includes real world case studies and role play scenarios to show how theories are applied in practice, and "think back" and "critique discussion" questions to encourage reflective learning and critical thinking. This indispensable text provides a dynamic picture of the evolution of knowledge management and demonstrates its full potential to enable better business decisions. Accompanying online resources include PowerPoint slides for lecturers and exercise questions for students.
Knowledge Management: Theory in Practice by ISBN: 9781473948198Publication Date: 2019An overview of what knowledge management is, the theoretical basis behind it, and practical insights into how it can be implemented effectively in a professional setting. Starting with a discussion of how knowledge management has evolved, how it adds value for organisations, and how it′s success can be measured. The book then covers best practice and the key activities associated with doing knowledge management, including knowledge strategy, managing knowledge loss and knowledge sharing. Finishing with a discussion of knowledge management's role in international business and what future developments are expected in the field. Practical insights are drawn from around the world, with case studies such as how NASA forgot how to send a man to the Moon, Acer: The smiling Asian tiger, and why Saudi Arabia's experts do not learn from overseas experts. The book is supported by online resources for lecturers and students, including PowerPoint slides, an instructor's manual, access to SAGE journal articles, and scorecards for measuring usefulness of knowledge management tools. Suitable reading for undergraduate and postgraduate business and management students on knowledge management & organizational learning modules.
Encyclopedia of Knowledge Management (2nd Ed.) by ISBN: 9781599049311Publication Date: 2011The Encyclopedia of Knowledge Management, Second Edition provides a compendium of terms, definitions and explanations of concepts, processes and acronyms addressing the challenges of knowledge management. This two-volume collection covers all aspects of this critical discipline, which range from knowledge identification and representation, to the impact of Knowledge Management Systems on organizational culture, to the significant integration and cost issues being faced by Human Resources, MIS/IT, and production departments.
Guide History
Guide originally created (2023):
Jennilyn Wiley, Auburn University
Valerie Linsinbigler, James Madison University
Bobi Bilz - Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary
