Sponsored by the BRASS Education Committee.
Last Updated: Nov 12, 2012
- Ethics Resource Center (ERC)
An 87-year old nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to independent research that advances high ethical standards and practices in public and private institutions, ERC is the home of the biennial National Business Ethics Survey, the most exacting longitudinal research effort examining organizational ethics from the employee perspective.
- Eldis: Corporate Responsibility Resource Guide
Eldis provides news, reports and information on international development issues and maintains an excellent resource guide on corporate responsibility. Eldis, formerly the Electronic Development and Environment Information System, is one of a family of knowledge services from the Institute of Development Studies, Sussex (UK).
- Institute for Global Ethics
The Institute promotes ethical behavior and integrity in schools, corporations and governments through research and programming. It includes the Center for Corporate Ethics which provides consulting services to businesses including “ethical fitness” training.
- Business for Social Responsibility (BSR)
BSR is an international organization which works with its global network of more than 250 member companies to develop sustainable business strategies and solutions through consulting, research, and cross-sector collaboration. See their links for “Research” and “Resources.”
- International Business Ethics Institute (IBEI)
The Institute promotes business ethics an corporate responsibility through educational resources and activities such as the Roundtable Discussion Series and the International Business Ethics Review. See also their helpful link for "Resources."
- BELL: The Business Ethics Links Library
A rich site from the University of Colorado with a searchable database and links to codes of ethics for U.S. companies and trade and professional associations, ethics sites at universities, industry information and company promotion of social responsibility covering such topics as arts assistance, environmental clean up, charitable giving and community programming.
- Society for Business Ethics
An international organization of scholars and others interested in business ethics, the Society provides a forum for those interested in research, teaching, or the practical application of ethical principles and concepts to the management of businesses. The Society also publishes the scholarly journal Business Ethics Quarterly and provides lists of experts and job openings.
A resource for case studies, syllabi and innovative teaching materials on business and sustainability— from corporate governance to sustainable development, CasePlace is an initiative of the Aspen Institute’s Center for Business Education which also sponsors the Beyond Grey Pinstripes report on MBA programs.
- 100 Best Corporate Citizens
This annual list is edited by Corporate Responsibility Officer magazine and ranks companies based on how well they perform in eight categories. The scores draw on both financial information and measures of corporate social performance. The financial component is based upon annualized 3-year shareholder return. Environmental, social and governance performance ratings are based upon KLD’s SOCRATES database of US company analysis.
- Ethisphere's World’s Most Ethical Companies
This ranking is produced by the Ethisphere Institute, an international think-tank dedicated to the creation, advancement and sharing of best practices in business ethics, corporate social responsibility, anti-corruption and sustainability. The Institute’s associated membership group, the Ethisphere Council, is a forum for business ethics that includes over 200 leading corporations, universities and institutions.
- Business & Human Rights Resource Centre
An independent, international nonprofit organization which features information on over 4,000 companies, more than 180 countries, and hundreds of issues and topics. The website provides links to thousands of publications, reports, and guides, including reports of corporate misconduct as well as extensive lists of related sites.
A nonprofit research group which provides critical commentary and investigative reporting on companies and industries around the world. They seek to “expose multinational corporations that profit from war, fraud, environmental, human rights and other abuses, and to provide critical information to foster a more informed public and an effective democracy.”
- Social Investment Forum
An association dedicated to advancing the practice and growth of socially responsible investing. Forum members provide portfolio selection analysis, shareholder advocacy and community investing. The link for “Research & Tools” provides excellent overviews, fact sheets and research reports.
- CSR Wire
Breaking news and financial information on the economics of sustainability, green investments and green investment strategies.
- International Labour Organization - Statistics and Databases
The ILO provides a wide range of information on topics including labor standards, child labor, working conditions, social security and related human rights legislation from around the world.
- United Nations Global Compact
A strategic policy initiative for businesses that are committed to aligning their operations and strategies with ten universally accepted principles in the areas of human rights, labor, environment and anti-corruption. The ten principles are derived from The Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the International Labour Organization's Declaration on Fundamental Principles and Rights at Work, the Rio Declaration on Environment and Development and the United Nations Convention Against Corruption.
Edited and updated each year, this list was originally compiled by Judith Faust, California State University, Hayward. Previously maintained by Irene Weiner, Baker University, Baldwin City, Kansas.