Getting Started - BRASS Business Guide - BANKING - BRASS Business Guides at BRASS

The Committee reviews this guide on a three-year cycle. To report broken links, please send an email to rusa@ala.org and put “BRASS Education Committee” in the subject line.

Last reviewed: July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2024

Next Review: 2026-2027

Scope

The U.S. banking industry is comprised primarily of commercial banks, along with savings banks and savings and loan institutions (also known as "thrifts"), credit unions, and Federal Reserve banks. Identifying and assessing financial institutions, both geographically and by type, and researching interest rates probably constitute the most common and predictable banking information needs of general library users. International banking is also referenced here, from a "global" perspective.

NAICS:

522: Credit Intermediation and Related Activities

5221: Depository Credit Intermediation

52211: Commercial Banking

52212: Savings Institutions

52213: Credit Unions

Other Useful Guides...

Reference & Interest Rates

Bankrate.com
Comprehensive rate comparisons for mortgages, credit cards, auto loans, savings, home equity, etc., as well as calculators and advice articles. Began in 1976 as "Bank Rate Monitor."
Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System - Selected Interest Rates
Released with daily updates of the weekly release Tuesday through Friday. Includes Federal funds rates, U.S. Treasury bills, interest rate swaps, corporate bonds and more.
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)
A great starting point for getting to know the banking industry; plentiful resources including consumer news and resources, industry analysis, data on instution assets and sales, and an overview of the laws and regulations that govern the actions of FDIC-insured institutions (and an explanation of what FDIC insurance is).
National Information Center (NIC)
The National Information Center provides financial and structural information on banks and other institutions for which the Federal Reserve has supervisory, regulatory, or research interest.

Terminology

Print Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

A Dictionary of Finance and Banking, 6th by Jonathan Law With over 5,500--including 150 new--accessible entries, this sixth edition of the bestselling Dictionary of Finance and Banking has been fully revised and updated to take into account the ever-developing financial landscape of the last five years. This comprehensive A-Z defines terms from all aspects of personal and international finance, including money markets, private investments and borrowing, central banking, foreign exchanges, monetary policy, and public and government finance. Now with expanded international coverage to reflect the on-going globalisation of financial markets and the growing importance of development finance, with new entries such as village banking, Islamic Development Bank, and M-Pesa.Quick links for additional online resources relating to the field can also be found on the companion website to expand reading and delve deeper into the world of finance and banking.With clear and accessible definitions, this jargon-free dictionary is a companion volume to the other financial titles in this bestselling series (A Dictionary of Business and Management, A Dictionary of Accounting, and A Dictionary of Economics), and provides accurate and valuable information for students, practitioners, private investors, and readers of the financial pages alike.
ISBN: 0198789742
Publication Date: 2018 (most recent)
Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Finance, Investment and Banking by Erik Banks The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Finance, Investment and Banking helps you understand and use financial language with more ease and confidence. Compiled by a finance professional with real-world experience on three continents, it is a highly practical reference book containing the essential terminology of today's international financial marketplace. It gives concise and clear definitions of well over 5,000 terms commonly used in the industry, covering the disciplines of accounting, banking, corporate finance, investment management and insurance. This dictionary includes: • New terminology, reflecting developments following the global financial crisis • 'Hot topics' of Islamic finance, bank regulation, carbon/emissions trading, business law/bankruptcy and structured products. • International coverage, with terminology used in Europe, Asia and the USA • Technical and non-technical terms, colloquialisms, acronyms and foreign language terms • 190 essential formulae and 50 diagrams to aid understanding Companion website with extra features and information: www.palgrave.com/banks
ISBN: 0230238297
Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Finance, 3rd ed by Cheng-Few Lee (Editor); Alice C. Lee (Editor) The Encyclopedia of Finance, Second Edition, comprised of over 1000 individual definitions and chapters, is the most comprehensive and up-to-date resource in the field, integrating the most current terminology, research, theory, and practical applications. Showcasing contributions from an international array of experts, the revised edition of this major reference work is unparalleled in the breadth and depth of its coverage. Part I provides readers with a basic framework for getting up to speed quickly, and has been updated to include over 200 new terms and essays. Part II features 24 new chapters and offers a more in-depth look at the topic through key developments and findings. Part III has also been expanded through the addition of four new appendices. From "asset pricing models" to "risk management," the Encyclopedia of Finance, Second Edition, serves as an essential resource for academics, educators, and students.
ISBN: 1461453593
Publication Date: 2022
The Encyclopedia of Money by Larry Allen The original edition of The Encyclopedia of Money won widespread acclaim for explaining the function -and dysfunction - of the financial system in a language any reader could understand. Now a decade later, with a more globally integrated, market-oriented world, and with consumers trying to make sense of subprime mortgages, credit default swaps, and bank stress tests, the Encyclopedia returns in an expanded new edition. From the development of metal and paper currency to the ongoing global economic crisis, the rigorously updated The Encyclopedia of Money, Second Edition is the most authoritative, comprehensive resource on the fundamentals of money and finance available. Its 350 alphabetically organized entries—85 completely new to this edition—help readers make sense of a wide range of events, policies, and regulations by explaining their historical, political, and theoretical contexts. The new edition focuses most intently on the last two decades, highlighting the connections between the onrush of globalization, the surging stock market, and various monetary and fiscal crises of the 1990s, as well as developments, scandals, and pocketbook issues making headlines today.
ISBN: 159884251X
Publication Date: 2009
Dictionary of Banking Terms by Thomas P. Fitch Puts detailed information right in your pocket! Barron's Business Dictionaries may be small in size, but they are extremely useful and economical reference sources for business students, business managers, and general readers seeking advice and information on specific business subjects. Each pocket-size book defines thousands of authoritative yet specialized terms within its subject area and features an abundance of diagrams, charts, and line art. These are must-haves for students and professionals alike. This updated and expanded edition features more than 3,000 terms defined and explained. Topics covered include every conceivable aspect of investment banking and commercial banking practices, finance and money management, and much more.
ISBN: 1438010435
Publication Date: 2018
Dictionary of Banking and Finance by Peter Hodgson Collin; Whitacker Staff This edition of Dictionary of Banking and Finance provides comprehensive coverage of the terms used in banking and finance, ranging from personal bank accounts to international money markets. It is aimed at professionals working in or involved with banking and finance, and for students, whether studying A-Levels, degree or professional qualifications in banking and finance. Contains over 9000 entries providing clear, up-to-date coverage of all aspects of banking and finance, the book also includes encyclopedic comments on banking and financial practice, expanding on complex terms such as "poison pills" and "bills of exchange", and special supplements on money, currencies, international banks and stock exchanges."
ISBN: 0713677392
Publication Date: 2005
Everyday Finance by Thomas Riggs Provides a mix of basic and practical information on economics, personal money management, and starting a business. The authors show how various financial institutions and the stock market work; shed light on social security; examine basic business and accounting practices; and demonstrate how to manage and make money in everyday life. Everyday Finance contains 300 topical entries ranging in length from 250 to 1, 500 words that are organized into 3 units: How the Economy Works, Personal Finance: Buying, Borrowing, Saving, and Insuring, and The World of Business. This set includes more than 200 photographs and 40 charts; extensive cross-references; sources for further study; and a cumulative general index. Published by Gale.
ISBN: 1414410492
Publication Date: 2008