Management & Marketing
Applied Sport Management Skills by ISBN: 9781492570158Publication Date: 2019-04-12Applied Sport Management Skills, Third Edition With Web Study Guide, takes a unique and effective approach to teaching students how to become strong leaders and managers in the world of sport. Organized around the central management functions--planning, organizing, leading, and controlling--this third edition addresses the Common Professional Component topics outlined by the Commission on Sport Management Accreditation (COSMA).
Contemporary Sport Management by ISBN: 9781492550952Publication Date: 2018The sixth edition of Contemporary Sport Management offers the knowledge of 58 highly acclaimed contributors, 25 of them new to this work. Together, they present a wide array of cultural and educational backgrounds, offer a complete and contemporary overview of the field, and represent the diversity that is noteworthy of this profession.
International Sport Management by ISBN: 1492556785Publication Date: 2019-03-05International Sport Management, Second Edition, takes a comprehensive look at the organization, governance, business activities, and cross-cultural context of modern sport on an international level. As the sport industry continues its global expansion, this second edition serves as an invaluable guide for students whose careers will require an international understanding of the relationships, influences, and responsibilities in sport management. With a diverse editorial team and assembly of contributors from all corners of the globe, this text presents a truly international perspective and multiple viewpoints on the burgeoning subfield of international sport management.
Managing Sports Teams by ISBN: 3030564940Publication Date: 2020-10-30This handbook offers a comprehensive overview of the most important and fundamental elements for the management of team sports organisations. It is intended to meet the needs of full-time and voluntary individuals in management positions in professional and semi-professional sports clubs, leagues and federations, and those who aspire to such positions. In addition to management-relevant aspects, its interdisciplinary approach also includes the basics of law and media, which are vital to the successful management of team sports organisations. Bringing together experts from the respective disciplines, the book's content is presented in a clear and straightforward manner, facilitating its implementation in practice.
Principles and Practice of Sport Management by ISBN: 9781284142136Publication Date: 2018Principles and Practice of Sport Management, Sixth Edition provides students with the foundation they need to prepare for a variety of sport management careers. Intended for use in introductory sport management courses at the undergraduate level, the focus of the Sixth Edition is to provide an overview of the sport industry and cover basic fundamental knowledge and skill sets of the sport manager, as well as to provide information on sport industry segments for potential employment and career opportunities.
Sponsorship in Marketing by ISBN: 0367343444Publication Date: 2020-03-17Sponsorship of sports, arts or events can be a powerful form of marketing communication for businesses and organizations. This new edition of Sponsorship in Marketing introduces the fundamentals of sponsorship-linked marketing, helping the reader to understand how sponsorship can be planned, executed and measured. Drawing on original research and exploring key theory, best practice and cutting-edge issues, the book fully explains how the sponsor can implement successful sponsorship to achieve communication and engagement objectives.
Sport Marketing by ISBN: 1492594628Publication Date: 2021-03-12Sport marketing is more accessible than ever, with sport business professionals, companies, the media, athletes, teams, coaches, and fans connecting in new ways and with new experiences. Sport Marketing, Fifth Edition With HKPropel Access, presents a modernized, current-day approach to the dynamic industry of sport marketing.
Sports Ethics for Sports Management Professionals by ISBN: 1284171302Publication Date: 2019-04-02Sports management professionals are confronted with many ethical decisions during their careers, and it's essential that they be equipped to make an informed decision when faced with a difficult situation. The goal of Sports Ethics for Sports Management Professionals, Second Edition is to provide professionals with the tools necessary to tackle these kinds of situations.
Sports Marketing by ISBN: 9781138039841Publication Date: 2018Highly practical and engaging, Sports Marketing equips students with the skills, techniques, and tools they need to be successful marketers in any sporting environment. The book combines scholarly theory with the perspectives of those who have been actively involved in the sports business. A worldwide range of examples from all levels of sports, as well as insider expertise, strongly ties classroom learning to real-world practice, and assures students that the theory is relevant. New material includes: Expanded coverage of marketing analytics and the use of market-driven tactics showing students how to strengthen customer relationships and maximize profits.
Strategic Management in Sport by ISBN: 9781138290037Publication Date: 2018The book introduces the fundamentals of strategic planning, environmental analyses, strategic direction and leadership, strategy formulation and selection, implementation, strategic control, and change management. Designed to encourage students to develop a strategic mindset, as well as critical thinking and problem-solving skills, the book unpacks key concepts such as leadership, governance, organizational change and the multiple layers of strategy in sport.
Finance & Research Methods
The Economics and Finance of Professional Team Sports by ISBN: 9780367655662Publication Date: 2022This book takes an in-depth look at the economics and finance of professional team sports, with a strong focus on applied analysis and performance measurement, to enable students, researchers, and practitioners to develop their professional knowledge of contemporary sport business. It examines the key themes that define professional team sports today, including the unique features of the team sport market place, the operation of leagues, competitive balance, salary caps, draft systems, income from broadcasting rights, the role of agents, and governance and financial regulation.
Financial Management in the Sport Industry by ISBN: 9780367321215Publication Date: 2021Now in a fully revised and updated third edition, this essential textbook introduces the fundamentals of sport finance and sound financial management in the sport industry. It is still the only textbook to explain every aspect of finance from the perspective of the sport management practitioner, explaining key concepts and showing how to apply them in practice in the context of sport.
Research Methods and Design in Sport Management by ISBN: 9781492574910Publication Date: 2019Research Methods and Design in Sport Management, Second Edition With Web Resource, imparts modern explanations of research design, implementation, analysis, and assessment that are specific to the discipline of sport management. An invaluable resource for both students and practitioners, the text first helps readers understand the research process and then delves into specific research methods. Special attention is devoted to the process of reading and understanding research in the field, preparing readers to apply the concepts long after reading the text and learning the foundational skills
Research Methods for Sports Studies by ISBN: 9781032017525Publication Date: 2022Research Methods for Sports Studies is a comprehensive, engaging and practical textbook that provides a grounding in qualitative and quantitative research for students studying programmes related to sport and physical activity. Leading the reader step-by-step through the entire research process, from identifying a research question and collecting and analysing data to writing and presenting the research report, the book is richly illustrated throughout with sport-related case studies and examples from around the world.
Routledge Handbook of Qualitative Research in Sport and Exercise by ISBN: 1138353485Publication Date: 2018-10-01The last two decades have witnessed a proliferation of qualitative research in sport and exercise. The Routledge Handbook of Qualitative Research in Sport and Exercise is the first book to offer an in-depth survey of established and emerging qualitative methods, from conceptual first principles to practice and process. Written and edited by a team of world-leading researchers, and some of the best emerging talents, the book introduces a range of research traditions within which qualitative researchers work.
Sports Finance and Management by ISBN: 9781138341814Publication Date: 2018This second edition introduces relevant case study examples in new chapters, and examines the impact of changes in facility design, media opportunities, and league and conference policies on the economic success of teams, the salaries earned by professional players, and the finances of collegiate athletics.
Call Numbers & Subject Headings
Sports-specific Library of Congress call number ranges:
- GV 1 - 200 Recreation (including outdoor)
- GV 201 - 555 Physical education & training.
- GV 346 - 351.5 School & college athletics.
-
GV 401 - 433 Physical education & sports facilities
- GV 557 - 1198.995 Sports (all aspects)
- GV 711 Coaching
- GV 712 - 725 Athletic contests & sports events
- HD 9992 - 9993 Special industries- sporting goods
- KF 3989 Sports law
Library of Congress subject headings:
Management, Facilities, & Marketing
- Sports -- Management
- Sports -- Marketing
- Sports administration
- Sports agents
- Sports franchises
- Sporting goods
- Sports personnel
- Sports teams
- Sports facilities -- Management
- Outdoor recreation -- United states -- Management
- Recreation -- Management
- Recreation centers -- Management
By level
- Professional sports
- College sports
- College sports -- Management OR College sports -- United states -- Management
- College students -- Recreation -- United States
- Sports for children
- Physical education and training
Media, Law, Economics, etc.
- Sports -- Economic aspects
- Sports -- Law and legislation
- Sports sponsorship
- Mass media and sports
- Sports journalism
- Sports -- History
