Where can I find basic information for a business in another country?
Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations by
ISBN: 9781410363794Publication Date: 2019
- Europages - The European Business DirectoryA multilingual directory site of companies across the world searchable by product or services, company name or business sector. Results can include company catalogs, with links to business services such as phone directories, package tracking, converters, bank holidays, calendar, newspapers, and online translators.
- Dun & Bradstreet HooversLook up international companies (contact info included) and use the 'Family Tree' feature to see its relationship to any parent/subsidiary companies.
- Uniworld OnlineSearch either U.S. companies doing business abroad or foreign companies doing business in the U.S. Includes very basic contact information.
- Mergent OnlineResource with a lot of information on countries around the globe. Includes ownership information, subsidiaries and associated companies, reports, filings, news and executive information. Allows users to build and download custom reports on individual companies or comparative reports examining multiple companies.
Where can I get a foreign company's annual report?
Company Homepages
Many famous foreign companies provide English versions of their annual reports; you may find this information on an Investor Relations page.
- AnnualReports.comThis site offers annual reports for Australian, Canadian and UK listed companies (on specified exchanges), as well as U.S. companies.
- SEDAR"All Canadian public companies and investment funds are generally required to file their documents in the SEDAR system."
- Mergent OnlineNo access to filings for non-US companies but DO often provide access to Annual Reports. Note: These reports will likely be in the native language of the home country.
- Thomson One Wealth (Refinitiv)Company Views section includes access to filings and annual reports. If it's a large enough company the annual reports are likely in English.
Where can I find information about a specific industry in another country?
- UNIDO International Yearbook of Industrial Statistics 2022The International Yearbook of Industrial Statistics is a flagship publication of UNIDO that provides economists, planners, policymakers and business people with worldwide statistics on current level, structure and trends in the manufacturing sector. The Yearbook is designed to facilitate international comparisons relating to manufacturing activity and industrial development and performance. It provides data that can be used to analyse patterns of growth and related long-term trends, structural change and industrial performance in individual industries.
Published by the United Nations Industrial Development Organization, with permission in text to freely reprint with attribution.
- BizStats (BizMiner)Access to some basic industry average statistics. Note: There is also a subscription version of this database with additional data.
- CorporateInformation.comIndustry Average Reports are available for 28 industries and 7 global regions: Africa, Asia, Australasia, Europe, Latin America, Middle East and North America. Must subscribe or buy reports individually.
- Passport (Euromonitor International)Provides tons of industry reports. Browse by Industries or Countries. Reports include market size and segmentation information, pricing, brand and company shares and more. Also learn about consumer trends and lifestyles around the globe.
- Innovation, Science and Economic Development CanadaAn abundance of Canadian business and industry information from Canada’s Minister of Industry. Categories include: Programs and services (business startup, company directories, economic and market research/statistics, financing, infrastructure, regulations, and trade and investment), industrial sector, online forms, resources for business, and resources for consumers.
Don't forget to check out industry associations. They might provide free access to some industry research.
How can I determine market share or company rankings from an international perspective?
- Global Top 100 Companies - PricewaterhouseCoopers (PWC)"In this report we have ranked the top 100 global companies by market capitalisation and compared how the list has evolved from March 2009 to March 2019. We have identified the risers and the fallers, looked at sector dynamics and presented a view on how the global landscape has changed." From PricewaterhouseCoopers:
- Fortune: RankingsFortune publishes an annual international ranking of the largest 500 companies in the world that report financial information to a government agency.
- Mintel Market SizesThis marketing database allows you to explore a particular industry within your specified geographical areas. Data includes overall market size by nation, market segmentation by product etc., and market shares by company within each national market.
- Passport (Euromonitor International)An all-around excellent resource for international business-related information. But also includes industry reports by country and, depending on the industry, often PRICING information, occasionally even down to the by-product level.
