Facts, figures, news and articles on all things related to the air transport industry. Includes data on the airline industry, regulations, individual airports and air carriers. Some content is for members only.
A great web site for all topics relating to the cruise industry. Free content includes regulatory information, profile of cruise line companies, industry news and statistics, and some industry market reports. Other content for members only.
An online resource center for convention and visitors bureaus, and destination professionals worldwide. Some content is for members only, but free information includes reports on destination topics, event calendars, newsletters, and job and internship listings.
Web site for the popular travel book series, this site offers free information on hotels, restaurants, destinations, and cruises. Also includes Fodor’s Travel Wire, with lists such as “Airports We Love and Hate”, and “Must-Do Adventures for 2007”.
Website of the U.S. Department of Commerce International Trade Administration, Office of Travel and Tourism Industries. Includes free data on U.S. and international tourism and travel, including news, statistics, and links to other great information sources. Users can also subscribe to a free news/update service called TINews.
An excellent compendium of data collected by the U.S. Department of Transportation. All data is free, and includes information on commuting, business and leisure travel, demographic information on travelers, and much more. Also includes reports on topics such as comparing travel pre-and post September 11, and preferred mode of transportation for travel.
The World Tourism Organization (UNWTO), a specialized agency of the United Nations, is the leading international organization in the field of tourism. Most of the information on the site deals with tourism policy issues including sustainable development and ethics. There aren’t many free reports and publications, but this is a useful site for researching the travel and tourism industry.
This site deals with international travel and tourism. Information is provided for professionals, researchers and consumers. The site provides access to travel and tourism market research reports and lots of specific reports for various countries.
This association provides insights on the tourism industry. Furthermore, the association website has research reports, white papers, and quarterly global economic forecasts from Euromonitor. (specific reports available based on memberships.
This non-profit organization is an emerging leader in analyzing and assessing global issues, international trends, and leadership research. Furthermore, the following website provides travel and tourism competitive reports.
Explores major concepts in tourism, what makes tourism possible, and how tourism can become an important factor in the wealth of any nation. It is written in global terms, making it appropriate not only in the US but also for our subsidiary markets. It provides an overview of the principles, practices, and philosophies that affect the cultural, social, economic, psychological, and marketing aspects of human travel and the tourism industry.
This book examines the travel and tourism industry in the United States which are critical to the American economy. Federal policies on matters ranging from national security to transportation and from trade to natural resources management affect travel and tourism, and its potential for growth. In a global economy, a range of businesses depend on travel and tourism policies to enable clients, customers, and colleagues to conduct business in the United States.
Aims to guide and support readers through the complexities of tourism marketing in the 21st Century. It sets out clear explanations of marketing principles and concepts adapted from mainstream services marketing, and goes on to illustrate the range of applications currently practiced in the modern visitor economy.
An invaluable resource for studying every destination in the world, by explaining tourism demand, evaluating the many types of tourist attractions and examining the trends that may shape the future geography of tourism. The sixth edition is brought up to date with features such as: An exploration of current issues such as climate change, recreational preferences, demographic changes and the social impacts of tourism.
Prompts a rethinking of the key paradigms in tourism studies in the digital age. The book proposes a range of new concepts to describe the way tourists inhabit the world and engage with their social networks: smart tourism, the mediated gaze, mobile conviviality, re-enchantment and embrace. This book will be of interest to students and scholars of sociology, tourism and hospitality, new media, cosmopolitanism studies, mobility studies and cultural studies.
Who's Buying for Travel
by New Strategist Press Editors (Prepared for Publication by)
Publication Date: 2014-07-15
The publication contains unpublished data collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the Consumer Expenditure Survey. Furthermore, this publication has data on American spending habits by the demographics that count: age, income, high-income households, and much more.
Sustainability in Tourism
by Ian Jenkins (Editor); Roland Schröder (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013-06-17
Sustainability and green topics have become a crucial element in modern economy. All sectors of the economy are concerned, also the tourism industry. This book takes an overview on developments of sustainability in tourism from a multidisciplinary view point: economy, marketing, social science, media studies, political studies. In order to under-stand the long term changes in the field it is important to include different scientific approaches.