Food Marketing Institute (FMI) conducts programs in research, education, industry relations and public affairs for food retailers and wholesalers. The comprehensive site includes information for professionals and consumers. There is information on food safety, nutrition, and industry legislation. There is also information regarding conducting business and includes human resources, technology and supply.
Site for the trade association for independent malt beverage distributors. Provides access to information about beer making, legislative issues and current news. The site also contains industry research
A comprehensive site for the restaurant industry covering business, government and health and safety information. The site provides access to industry statistics and market reports. In addition, there are resources for professionals related to operations, marketing, etc.
Nations Restaurant News is an extensive site covering all aspects of the restaurant industry. Information provided includes current news, market research and information related to food and beverage, marketing, human resources, operations and consumer trends.
Provides information on the wine industry including industry news, research and government regulation. The industry news section contains harvest reports, statistics (wine consumption, sales, etc.), and public policy issues.
News site for the wine industry. The site provides access to current news and other facets of the wine industry including winemaking, grape growing, sales and marketing, and business and technology. There are also various resources for industry research including rankings, surveys, etc.
Trade organization for distilled spirits, contains information on ethics, health, government regulation and industry news. The site provides industry statistics on sales, economic contribution, and import/export figures.
Malt beverage trade association dealing with many facets of the industry. Covers legislative and regulatory issues, health awareness, agricultural policy, etc. This site contains access to statistical reports, industry studies and other research.
Trade association that provides information on all aspects of brewing. Topics covered range from government regulation, types of beer, and industry information including statistics. Also provides current news on the industry.
For courses in foodservice management or administration; hospitality management; quantity food production and/or purchasing; foodservice accounting/financial management; menu planning; foodservice marketing/merchandising, or related topics Foodservice Operations for Today's College Students Authored by leading industry experts with years of teaching experience, the Thirteenth Edition of Foodservice Management: Principles and Practices offers a comprehensive, current, and practical overview of foodservice operations and business principles. Covering topics like food safety, human resources, finance, equipment, design, marketing, and filled with real-life case studies, this text gives college students a deep understanding of the issues they will face in any type of foodservice operation. Rich with graphics and photos, its visually appealing design is organized for maximum student engagement and understanding. This edition has been updated to reflect new trends in sustainability and food safety issues.
The food industry is among the most competitive and globally-linked of all business sectors. Plunkett's Food Industry Almanac will be your guide to the entire food business, from production, to distribution, to retailing. This exciting new book covers everything you need to know about the food, beverage and tobacco industry, including: Analysis of major trends and markets; historical statistics and tables; major food producers such as Kraft and Frito Lay; retailers of all types, from convenience store operators to giant supermarket chains; emerging technologies including genetically-engineered (GM) foods; giant distributors such as Sysco; beverage companies such as Coca-Cola; wine, liquor and beer producers; tobacco, candy and gum; and much more. We discuss trends in food commodities demand, agricultural biotechnology, imports and exports, as well as growing demand in China and other emerging markets. This book includes statistical tables, industry contacts and indexes. The corporate section includes our proprietary, in-depth profiles of 450 leading companies, public and private, in all facets of the industry. You'll find a complete overview, industry analysis and market research report in one superb, value-priced package.
Restaurant owners will continue to turn to The Restaurant because it helps them gain the skills needed to master every challenge and succeed in this highly competitive and rewarding industry. Greater emphasis is placed on restaurant business plans, restaurant management, and restaurant operations. The themes of sustainability and sustainable restaurant management have been added throughout.
This text focuses on Bar and Beverage Management topics. It includes essential content plus learning activities, case studies, professional profiles, research topics and more that support course objectives.
The Restaurant Manager's Handbook
by Douglas Robert Brown
Publication Date: 2019-10-04
The multiple award-winning Restaurant Manager's Handbook is the best-selling book on running a successful food service operation. This completely revised edition of this book includes cutting-edge material that you need to run your restaurant in the modern age. This edition includes case studies from professionals that cover topics such as restaurant branding, franchising, effective layout and remodeling, cost-effective menu planning, food sourcing options, food safety and IoT technology, smart phone apps to ease scheduling and communication hassles, digital marketing, recent trends in the restaurant business, managing online feedback, and innovative ways to promote your restaurant on the web. This book is an invaluable asset to any existing restaurant owner or manager as well as anyone considering a career in restaurant management or ownership. All existing chapters have new and updated information focusing on the progress and implementation of technology. You will find many additional tips to help restaurant owners and managers learn to handle labor and operational expenses, rework menus, earn more from better bar management, and introduce up-scale wines and even local, organic menu items for profit. Anyone in the food service industry will rely on this book for their everyday operations. Dozens of chapters cover the entire process of a restaurant start-up and ongoing management in an easy-to-understand way, pointing out methods to increase your chances of success and showing how to avoid the many mistakes arising from being uninformed and inexperienced that can doom a restaurateur's start-up. You will have at your fingertips profitable menu planning, sample restaurant floor plans and diagrams, successful kitchen management, equipment layout and planning, food safety, Hazardous and Critical Control Point (HACCP) information, and successful beverage management. Learn how to set up computer systems to save time and money and get brand new IRS tip-reporting requirements, accounting and bookkeeping procedures, auditing, successful budgeting and profit planning development. You will be able to generate high profile public relations and publicity, initiate low cost internal marketing ideas, and you will finally learn how to master the use of social media to increase your outreach and sales.