Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference and User Services Association Division of American Library Association Business Guides

2021 BRASS Program - Follow The Money: NonProfits

Resource guie for "Follow the money: Help watchdogs, whistleblowers, and our communities find and understand financial trails and organizational relationships".

Subscription Databases

Charity Navigator - evaluates hundreds of thousands of charitable organizations based in the United States, operating as a free 501 organization.

Foundations Directory Online -provides comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants. Included is a database of over 100,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S.; a database of over 4,000 sponsoring companies, offering a quick pathway to corporate funders; a database of over 2.4 million recently awarded grants; and a keyword-searchable database of over 700,000 recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.

Guidestar Pro - furnishes information about the purposes, finances, and programs of more than 1.7 million IRS-recognized organizations. A free version of GuideStar is available remotely through Candid, but the information is limited and embargoed.  Guidestar Pro obtains and rates the organization's transparency with their reporting, based on Form 990, Form 990-PF, and Form 990-N. 

Open Access/Free Resources

Below is a screenshot on where to conduct a search on charitable organizations to verify its status and depending on the revenue and employee size, any 990 Forms required.

 

About

Sponsors

Contact

This site was created to accompany the BRASS Program at the 2021 ALA Annual Conference. Questions and comments can be directed to the BRASS Conference Planning Committee.

 Content on this site is licensed under a CC BY 4.0 Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International license.
 ©2000-2021 BRASS Education Committee.

BRASS acknowledges Springshare's generous support in hosting the BRASS Business Guides.