BRASS Business Guide - INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS

As well as publications, articles on trade topics (exporting, compliance and enforcement), the data section offers industry analysis and statistics. TradeStats Express provides charts/graphs describing "Global Patterns of U.S. Merchandise Trade" or "Product Profiles of U.S. Merchandise Trade with a Selected Market." Also FAQs on exporting, a guide to U.S. exporting programs, help calculating tariffs on U.S. exports and a directory of U.S. and foreign trade offices...

There are several steps that must be taken to ensure that your company is ready to export. Find out the first steps to take by watching the informative series on export planning called "Get Ready to Export". And understand the export process by using these tools and resources.

The U.S. Small Business Administration provides counseling, training and financing to support small business export opportunities. Content on this page includes benefits of exporting, get export and trade assistance, find international buyers export finance programs, and additional trade resources.

It gathers data at the country level from multiple sources on a monthly, quarterly, and yearly basis. It enables users to search for indicators and refine search results by applying selected filters. In addition, for certain countries like Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, and Russia, it offers data categorized by enterprise types, industries/sectors, and cities.

It is a service from the Financial Times. By subscription database offering information on greenfield investments by country and industry. They "provide access to real-time monitoring of investment projects, capital investment and job creation."

It is a member of the World Bank Group, providing access to the proposals (and limited information therein) regarding FDI projects MIGA is insuring.

FDI inflows and outflows by country. Country comparison of regulatory restrictiveness data/chart.

It focuses on trends in foreign direct investment (FDI) worldwide, at the regional and country levels and emerging measures to improve its contribution to development. It also provides analysis on global value chains and the operations of multinational enterprises, with special attention to their development implications.

Includes net FDI inflows data by all countries and economies in most recent year with most recent value.

"UNSD collects, compiles and disseminates detailed trade data (by commodity/services category and by trading partner) for both merchandise trade and trade in services. UN Comtrade and UN ServiceTrade, data dissemination system, offer free-access to official trade statistics as reported by countries/areas."

Covers 1989 to two months from the present. This database provides specific U.S. export and import information on commodities throughout the world. Users need to create a new account to access the query tool in new DataWeb.

This free database from Canada also provides specific U.S. export and import information on commodities throughout the world, but not at as detailed a level as the ITC Trade Database. However, there are some unique search options, and data can be viewed as tables and graphs.

From the International Trade Administration. Data topics include National U.S. Trade, Sub-National U.S. Trade, U.S. Exporting Companies, Jobs Supported by Exports and Tariffs & U.S. Trade. Access to TradeStats Express - U.S. trade statistics by market and industry.

Access databases or annual publications on a variety of related topics. Premier publication: International Trade Statistics (annual) and Trade Profiles. Interactive database includes time series data on international trade, country trade, tariffs and service profiles.

The World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS) software provides access to international merchandise trade, tariff and non-tariff measures (NTM) data. Browse the Country profile section to obtain countries exports, imports and tariff statistics along with relevant development data. Register and log in to WITS to perform custom analysis, using standard and derived product classifications.

Reports on market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs prepared at U.S. Embassies worldwide by Commerce Department, State Department and other U.S. agencies' professionals.

Cooperative program involving the U.S. Department of Commerce, Federal Bar Association and the U.S. Small Business Administration which describes itself as a "group of attorneys in private law firms that volunteer to provide an initial legal consultation free of charge to companies just beginning to export. Under ELAN, knowledgeable lawyers help new export companies learn the legal aspects of international trade, issues relating to export licensing, domestic and foreign taxation, tariffs, and intellectual property rights are just some of the topics covered."

Intro page from U.S. Customs and Border Protection covering basic legal/regulatory information on importing, exporting and processing information. Includes "Tips for New Importers and Exporters" and "Top Import/Export Topics."

The international trade resources include 28,918 Market Analyses, Tips on How to Import/Export and more.

The Doing Business report series includes annual reports going back to 2003, regional reports, a wide variety of subnational studies, a number of thematic studies on special focus areas and case studies. It ceased to publish new reports in 2021.