This is the "Getting Started" page of the "BRASS Business Guide - ELECTRONIC COMMERCE" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BRASS Business Guide - ELECTRONIC COMMERCE  

Sponsored by the BRASS Education Committee.
Last Updated: Jun 25, 2014 URL: http://brass.libguides.com/Ecommerce Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Scope:

Electronic commerce is defined as "a type of business model, or segment of a larger business model, that enables a firm or individual to conduct business over an electronic network, typically the internet" (Investopedia).

Electronic commerce (e-commerce) researchers can have a variety of needs: mechanics of how to do business on the Internet (web hosting and design); statistics about users and traffic; marketing strategies for the medium; and, future trends.

 

Suggested Searches:

e-commerce, ecommerce, Ecommerce, electronic commerce, web commerce, cyber commerce, e-business,online commerce, internet retailing, web retailing

Narrower: internet advertising, internet marketing, mobile commerce, m commerce, m-commerce

Related: internet sales, internet stores, internet strategy, online shopping, virtual economy

Other BRASS Guides:

There are a number of other BRASS Business Guides that are relevant to electronic commerce topics.

 

General E-commerce Reference:

Cover Art
Dictionary of E-Business - Francis Botto
ISBN: 0470844701
Publication Date: 2003-01-17
Definitions and articles related to electronic commerce and Internet terms and concepts.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of E-Commerce, E-Government and Mobile Commerce - Mehdi Khosrow-Pour (Editor)
ISBN: 1591407990
Publication Date: 2006-03-31
"This two-volume encyclopedia includes over 200 contributions from more than 300 experts and researchers worldwide, and extensive reference sections which list 4,400 additional research works. Topics include e-collaboration technologies and applications, e-commerce technologies and applications, e-commerce management and social issues, e-government technologies and applications, e-government management and social issues, e-healthcare technologies and applications, e-learning technologies and applications, e-technologies security and privacy, mobile commerce technologies and applications, mobile commerce management and social issues, virtual communities and enterprises, and web portals and services.

Cover Art
Gale E-Commerce Sourcebook - Gale
ISBN: 0787674214
Publication Date: 2012-03-16
Includes "how to" topics, directory information, and top e-commerce companies worldwide.

Gale Encyclopedia of E-Commerce - Galè
ISBN: 0787690988
Publication Date: 2012-03-16
"This second edition of the Gale Encyclopedia of E-Commerce (GEEC) presents a comprehensive look at the topics and terms, companies, people, events, and legislation most relevant to the e-commerce industry. Designed for e-entrepreneurs and students performing industry research, as well as for individuals simply interested in understanding the industry more fully, GEEC is an all-encompassing source of the information most critical to understanding the e-commerce industry. Topics include: Online Banking, Amazon.com, Internet Tax Freedom Act, Steve Jobs, Facebook, E-Books, Cyber Monday, Web Portals, PayPal, Intellectual Property and much more. Approximately 480 comprehensive essays really explain the industry to the user."

General E-commerce News & Periodicals:

  • CIO Research Reports
    Exclusive survey findings based on studies conducted of their readership—CIOs and IT executives who are responsible for steering and managing their organization's technology.
  • ClickZ News
    Provides news, research and statistics on the interactive marketing world.
  • Ecommerce Times
    An e-business and technology news site.
  • International Journal of Electronic Commerce  Icon
    "The International Journal of Electronic Commerce is the leading refereed quarterly devoted to advancing the understanding and practice of electronic commerce. It serves the needs of researchers as well as practitioners and executives involved in electronic commerce. The Journal aims to offer an integrated view of the field by presenting approaches of multiple disciplines."
  • Internet Retailer
    Covers the market trends, technology, competitive practices and people that are shaping the e-commerce industry. Some content freely available.
  • MIT Technology Review  Icon
    Covers trends and developments in business technology.
  • The Industry Standard
    The Industry Standard is a newsmagazine of the Internet Economy. It delivers sophisticated coverage of the people, the companies and the business models shaping the Internet Economy. Includes insightful news analysis, business model reviews, personality profiles, industry metrics and executive recruiting.

Finding E-commerce Articles:

  • ABI/Inform (ProQuest)  Icon
    Provides coverage of business conditions, management techniques, corporate strategies and trends, and product and competitor information. Coverage varies by specific database (Complete, Global, Research, Trade & Industry, Dateline).
  • Business Source (EBSCO)  Icon
    Major competitor to ABI/Inform. Coverage varies by database but all provide access to hundreds, if not thousands, of business publications (peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, regional business, etc.) that cover management topics. Business Source Elite provides access to core business standards like BusinessWeek, American Banker, Forbes, Fortune, The Economist, and more.
  • Communications & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)  Icon
    "This database offers information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields, with abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text from more 240 titles."
  • eMarketer  Icon
    Covers digital marketing, media and commerce. Some content freely available.
  • Web Marketing Today  Icon
    Index to articles and other resources for web marketing and e-commerce. Categories include search engines, social media, conversion, design, and platforms.

General E-commerce Websites:

  • Congressional Research Service Reports on Intellectual Property, Cyberlaw and Electronic Commerce
    The Franklin Pierce Law Center IP Mall posts selected Congressional Research Service reports on intellectual property, cyberlaw and electronic commerce topics. The Congressional Research Service (of the Library of Congress) writes analyses of public policy issues, especially of legislative proposals, for use by Congressmen. CRS does not provide its reports directly to the public.
  • The Center for Research in Electronic Commerce
    The CREC, formerly CISM, at the University of Texas at Austin has been the leading research institution in generating critical knowledge and understanding in the fields of Information Systems and Management, Electronic Commerce and the Digital Economy.
  • Think with Google
    Keep up with what’s new and what’s next in digital media and marketing.
  • Web Marketing Today  Icon
    Index to articles and other resources for web marketing and e-commerce. Categories include search engines, social media, conversion, design, and platforms.

General E-commerce Organizations & Associations:

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Christina Sheley
Contact Info
Indiana University, Bloomington
Business/SPEA IC
Send Email
 

Previously Maintained:

Chad Boeninger
Ohio State University,

Glenda Neely
University of Louisville

Doug Highsmith
California State University, Hayward

List originally compiled by:
Deborah Harrington
Texas A&M University

BRASS BEST OF THE BEST BUSINESS WEBSITE WINNERindicates annual BRASS Best of the Best Business Website Winners


The BRASS Education Committee appreciates your interest in our Guides. Linking and directing users to our Guides is welcome and permissible. Our Guides are regularly and professionally updated so linking assures access to the most current information. The wholesale copying and “lifting” of our pages is prohibited. These guides support the purpose of the Brass Education Committee . © Copyright 2012 BRASS Education Committee - All Rights Reserved

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip