Contact:
Guide Editor
Guide Editor
The Committee reviews this guide on a three-year cycle. To report broken links, please send an email to rusa@ala.org and put “BRASS Education Committee” in the subject line.
Scope
Basic accounting competencies for librarians listed in this guide are directories for finding accountants, various certifications, accounting standards, and regulatory bodies, as well as recommended sources to learn more about accounting basics.
Accounting and tax questions are often related, and research of one area may include research in the other. Consult the BRASS Business Guide - Taxation guide for more information on that topic.
Trending Topics
ESG (Environmental, Social, Governance) Reporting and AI (artificial intelligence) are poised to have an impact on the field of accounting. Here are some places you can go to find out more about these trending topics:
-
BRASS Business Guide - BUSINESS ETHICS & CORPORATE SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY (CSR)
-
Foltin, C., & Holtzblatt, M. (2022, July 1). The Relevance and Reliability of ESG Reporting: What Are the Roles of the ISSB, the SEC, and the Accounting Profession? The CPA Journal, 92(7-8).
-
Business Case | Eccles, R. G., & Mirchandani, B. (2022). We Need Universal ESG Accounting Standards. Harvard Business Review Digital Articles, 1-6.
-
Deloitte Accounting Research Tool. (2024, April 8). Executive Summary of the SEC’s Landmark Climate Disclosure Rule. Heads Up 31(4).
-
Thomson Reuters Tax & Accounting. (2024, January 24). The rise of ESG accounting and the impact of AI for auditors.
-
Thomson Reuters Tax & Accounting. (2023, October 4). How do different accounting firms use AI?
-
CPA.com. (n.d.), Demystifying AI for The Accounting and Finance Profession | Generative AI initiative
Where can I find an accountant?
- AICPA's Find a CPA Page for the PublicLook for an accountant by type of specialization on the AICPA website. You may also use CPA Verify from the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) to determine if a particular firm or individual has been licensed.
I need a basic accounting manual.
Accounting for Dummies, 7th ed. by ISBN: 1119837545Publication Date: 2022You'll learn the basic ABC's of accounting. This book is aimed to applying understanding of accounting to a number of fundamental tasks related to business and personal finance. It includes: how to understand financial statements, create budgets & forecasts, craft profitable business plans, take control of your own finances, gain insight on how companies get money from investors and banks, and avoid common money mistakes.
- Additional For Dummies Accounting BooksJohn Wiley & Sons have over two dozen For Dummies books on auditing, bookkeeping, Sarbanes-Oxley and different types of accounting (cost, intermediate, managerial). Designed to "take on complex concepts and make them easy to understand."
The Essentials of Finance and Accounting for Nonfinancial Managers, 3rd ed. by ISBN: 0814436951Publication Date: 2016This popular crash course for managers helps you make sense of financial data and assessing performance. Packed with information on federal regulations, pertinent GAAP rules, global trends that can impact the financial picture, case studies, and practice exercises that reinforce the lessons and strengthen skills.
Accountants' Handbook, Volume One: Financial Accounting and General Topics by ISBN: 978-1118171820Publication Date: 2012-04-26This highly regarded reference is relied on by a considerable part of the accounting profession in their day-to-day work. A single reference source that provides answers to all reasonable questions on accounting and financial reporting asked by accountants, auditors, bankers, lawyers, financial analysts, and other preparers and users of accounting information. The new edition reflects the new FASB Codification, and includes expanded coverage of fair value and guidance on developing fair value estimates, fraud risk, and healthcare.
Accountants' Handbook: Volume Two: Special Industries & Special Topics by ISBN: 978-1118171813Publication Date: 2012-06-05This highly regarded reference is relied on by a considerable part of the accounting profession in their day-to-day work. This handbook is the first place accountants, auditors, bankers, lawyers, financial analysts, and other preparers and users of accounting information look to find answers to questions on accounting and financial reporting. The new edition will be updated to reflect the new FASB Codification, as well as including expanded coverage of fair value and guidance on developing fair value estimates, fraud risk, and healthcare.
Who and what are the Big 4?
- Deloitte Touche TohmatsuOffers auditing, consulting, financial advising, legal, risk and tax services
- Ernst & YoungE&Y provides assurance (including financial audit), tax, consulting and advisory services to companies.
- KPMGKPMG is a global network of professional firms providing Audit, Tax and Advisory services.
- PricewaterhouseCoopersPwC: Audit and assurance, consulting and tax services
Where can I learn about accounting careers & specialties?
- Data USA: Accounting Industry Statistics
This link opens in a new window
Find data on workforce, trends, diversity and industry inputs/outputs presented in an interactive visual format. Data USA contains U.S. federal and state sources, and enables easy discovery, comparison and customization of data. - BLS Accountants & AuditorsGo to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Outlook Handbook, Accountants and Auditor The BLS classifies accountants into four fields: public, management, government, and internal. The BLS site provides brief descriptions of each type, their associations and regulatory standards and their professional journals.
- CareerOneStop Accountants and AuditorsCareerOneStop is the flagship career, training, and job search website for the U.S. Department of Labor. The website serves job seekers, businesses, students, and career advisors with a variety of free online tools, information and resources.
- O*NET OnLine Accountants and AuditorsEvery occupation requires a different mix of knowledge, skills, and abilities, and is performed using a variety of activities and tasks. These distinguishing characteristics of an occupation are described by the O*NET Content Model. The Occupational Information Network (O*NET) is developed under the sponsorship of the U.S. Department of Labor/Employment and Training Administration (USDOL/ETA) through a grant to the North Carolina Department of Commerce.
- AccelPro | Audit Podcast SeriesShares insights about critical audit issues by interviewing those working in the field. Weekly episodes about 20 min. long.
Note: The career services office within your university or college may provide access to Candid Career or What Can I Do With This Major? Both are paid resources that provide additional ways for students to explore a field and its potential job paths.
Other Websites
- Accounting TodayFree membership registration. Provides tax and accounting related news and editorial analysis. Includes a daily newswire, daily columns, and Podcasts of interviews with leaders in the accounting profession. After registering for a free membership, visitors can get daily and bi-weekly e-mail newsletters, access to the journal rankings such as Top 100 Firms, Top 100 People, Top 100 Products and other special reports. Includes online access to the contents of Accounting Today and CPA Wealth Provider. It also provides access to the archives.
- The 25 Best Master's in Accounting ProgramsPublished by Accounting.com, this list includes basic information on the accreditation, admission requirements, length, and cost of major master's in accounting programs.
- Rutgers Accounting WebRutgers Accounting Web has been the center of accounting research. It leads the field in research in the areas of Continuous Auditing, Enhanced Business Reporting, and are constantly seeking solutions to take advantage of the Real-Time Economy.
Original compiler and previous maintainers
Previous maintainers include:
Adele Barsh, University of California, San Diego
Paul Brothers, University of Alabama
Leticia Camacho, Brigham Young University
Robbi De Peri, Vanderbilt University
Ann Fiegen,California State University, San Marcos
Edythe Gilbreath
Zachary Grisham, Miami University
Rachel Kirk, Middle Tennessee State University
Lee Pike, University of Alabama
List originally compiled by Jennifer Boettcher, Georgetown University
