Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference and User Services Association Division of American Library Association Business Guides

BRASS Business Guide - INSURANCE: Databases

Sponsored by the BRASS Education Committee.

What Databases Cover Insurance Journals and Trade Publications?

Please note that the resources listed below must be purchased through the associated publishers. You may have access to these resources through Universities or even public libraries which you are affiliated with. Please check with your local librarians to see if access is available.

  • ABI/Inform (ProQuest) - an article database which covers general business information, but also the insurance industry and practices.
  • Business Source, whether Elite, Premier, Complete (Ebsco) - another article and trade publication database, with similar coverage to ABI/INFORM.
  • Business Insights (Gale) - A specialized database which offers industry comparisons and charting, including for the insurance industry.
  • Factiva (Dow Jones) - a "global news and data platform", which offers analytics and business intelligence.
  • Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) - a specialized business database centered on legal documents, company information, and business publications.
  • SilverPlume  - Vendor of information from major publishers including A.M. Best, Institutional Risk Management Institute, National Underwiriter Company, and the Insurance Services Office serving insurance professionals, consultants, and human resource managers.

 Content on this site is licensed under a CC BY 4.0 Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International license.
 ©2000-2018 BRASS Education Committee.

BRASS acknowledges Springshare's generous support in hosting the BRASS Business Guides.