It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Each year, the Business Reference Sources Committee of BRASS selects the outstanding business reference sources published since May of the previous year. This year, the committee reviewed twenty-one entries; of these, one was designated as “Outstanding,” seven as “Notable,” and two as a “Notable New Edition.” To qualify for the award, the title must meet the conventional definition of reference: a work compiled specifically to supply information on a certain subject or group of subjects in a form that will facilitate its ease of use. The works are examined for the following: authority and reputation of the publisher, author, or editor; accuracy; appropriate bibliography; organization; comprehensiveness; value of the content; currency; distinctive addition; ease of use for the intended purpose; quality and accuracy of index; and quality and usefulness of graphics and illustrations. Additional criteria for electronic reference titles are accuracy of links, search features, stability of content, and graphic design. Works selected must be suitable for medium to large-size academic and public libraries.
In the fall of 2019, the committee voted to change their name and expand beyond reference sources for key business information sources. This will be reflected in future year's selections.
Economic Indicators for Professionals by Charles Steindel
Publication Date: 2018-08-29
We are bombarded with economic numbers: unemployment, retail sales, inflation, GDP¿the list goes on and on. Some analyst or another is constantly telling us about an obscure statistic that is the key to our future, or is apparently the indicator that the "Fed" will be using to key off its decisions. With economic numbers playing such a central role in the national and world dialogue on policy and markets, and spilling over into the political arena, a broad review of what they are all about is timely. This book reviews the critical US economic data, and how one may put the numbers into an intellectual structure that will depict evolving economic reality. The work is aimed at those who want and need to get some understanding about how the data contributes to a big picture of the economy and guides policy. The objective is for the reader to grasp the overall logic of the data¿how each piece of the puzzle contributes to our understanding of the overall economy. This is the way the Fed looks at the numbers. There are other books that go through the economic numbers, but they do so in a "bottom-up" fashion, describing a series in some detail and adding something about how financial markets may respond to it. This book naturally has considerable discussion of series, but views them as part of the overall mosaic, not items of fundamental interest in themselves.
The Cambridge Handbook of Law and Regulation of the Sharing Economy by Nestor Davidson (Editor); John J. Infranca (Editor); Michèle Finck (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018-11-22
This Handbook grapples conceptually and practically with what the sharing economy - which includes entities ranging from large for-profit firms like Airbnb, Uber, Lyft, Taskrabbit, and Upwork to smaller, non-profit collaborative initiatives - means for law, and how law, in turn, is shaping critical aspects of the sharing economy. Featuring a diverse set of contributors from many academic disciplines and countries, the book compiles the most important, up-to-date research on the regulation of the sharing economy. The first part surveys the nature of the sharing economy, explores the central challenge of balancing innovation and regulatory concerns, and examines the institutions confronting these regulatory challenges, and the second part turns to a series of specific regulatory domains, including labor and employment law, consumer protection, tax, and civil rights. This groundbreaking work should be read by anyone interested in the dynamic relationship between law and the sharing economy.
Handbook of Research Methods in Diversity Management, Equality and Inclusion at Work by Regine Bendl (Editor); Lize A. E. Booysen (Editor); Judith K. Pringle (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018-08-31
Equality, diversity and inclusion (EDI) have become features of organizations as a result of both legal and societal advances as well as neoliberal economic reasoning. While current research approaches frequently fall short of addressing the challenges faced in EDI research, this benchmark Handbook brings coverage of research methods in EDI up to date, and advances the development of research in the field.Bringing together well-known academics and researchers, this Handbook is a distillation of current and novel research in the field of EDI. Chapters present groundbreaking new research and methodological perspectives on international, regional and national issues, from equal opportunities and gender mainstreaming to managing diversity in legal, political and socio-economic contexts. Alongside this, the authors discuss new analytic directions to advance empirical EDI research. This Handbook will help to shape the present and future EDI discourse.The book is an invaluable addition to the current literature, particularly for students of EDI and researchers working in the fields of human resource management, strategic management and organization, and culture and change management as well as entrepreneurship and marketing.
The Oxford Handbook of Meaningful Work by Ruth Yeoman (Editor); Catherine Bailey (Editor); Adrian Madden (Editor); Marc Thompson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2019-03-10
This volume includes a wide ranging collection of scholarly essays on the topic of meaningful work, a subject which is of increasing interest to organizational practitioners, as well as academics. The contributions from leading thinkers in the field span ethical concerns ranging from freedom, autonomy, dignity, and human flourishing, to pragmatic concerns such as leadership, work design, belonging, identity, and culture, addressing the organizational conditionsfor experiencing meaningfulness and the effects of meaningful work. Taking an interdisciplinary approach, this volume reflects diverse scholarly contributions, and provides new directions for furtherresearch into a topic which will continue to be relevant as work changes under the pressures of technology, globalization, and new forms of organization.
The Palgrave Handbook of Wine Industry Economics by Adeline Alonso Ugaglia (Editor); Jean-Marie Cardebat (Editor); Alessandro Corsi (Editor)
Publication Date: 2019-03-27
This Palgrave Handbook offers the first international comparative study into the efficiency of the industrial organization of the global wine industry. Looking at several important vineyards of the main wine countries, the contributors analyze differences in implementation and articulation of three key stages: grape production, wine making and distribution (marketing, selling and logistics). By examining regulations, organization theory, industry organizational efficiency and vertical integration, up to date strategies in the sector are presented and appraised. Which models are most efficient? What are the most relevant factors for optimal performance? How do reputation and governance impact the industry? Should different models co-exist within the wine countries for global success? This comprehensive volume is essential reading for students, researchers and professionals in the wine industry.
Notable New Editions
There were no notable new editions selected in 2019.