It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Each year, the Business Reference Sources Committee of BRASS selects the outstanding business reference sources published since May of the previous year. This year, the committee reviewed sixteen entries; of these, two were designated as “Outstanding,” six as “Notable,” and one as a “Notable New Edition.” To qualify for the award, the title must meet the conventional definition of reference: a work compiled specifically to supply information on a certain subject or group of subjects in a form that will facilitate its ease of use. The works are examined for the following: authority and reputation of the publisher, author, or editor; accuracy; appropriate bibliography; organization; comprehensiveness; value of the content; currency; distinctive addition; ease of use for the intended purpose; quality and accuracy of index; and quality and usefulness of graphics and illustrations. Additional criteria for electronic reference titles are accuracy of links, search features, stability of content, and graphic design. Works selected must be suitable for medium to large-size academic and public libraries.
The Routledge Companion to Entrepreneurship by Ted Baker (Editor); Friederike Welter (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014-09-24
The purpose of this book is to map the research terrain of entrepreneurship, providing the perfect starting point for new and existing researchers looking to explore. Topics covered range from emerging perspective, through issues at the core of the field to innovative methodologies. Starting off with a preface by Bill Gartner, each section of the book brings together a world class set of established leading researchers and rising stars.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Quality and the Service Economy by Su Mi Dahlgaard-Park (Editor); Su Mi Dahlgaard-Park
Publication Date: 2015-07-08
The Encyclopedia of Quality and the Service Economy explores such relevant questions as: What are the characteristics, nature, and definitions of quality and services? How do we define quality of products, quality of services, or quality of life? How are services distinguished from goods? How do we measure various aspects of quality and services? How can products and service quality be managed most effectively and efficiently? What is the role of customers in creation of values? These questions and more are explored within the pages of this two-volume, A-to-Z reference work.
Creating Value with Big Data Analytics by Peter C. Verhoef; Edwin Kooge; Natasha Walk
Publication Date: 2016-01-08
This book is a refreshingly practical, yet theoretically sound roadmap to leveraging big data and analytics. Creating Value with Big Data Analytics provides a nuanced view of big data development, arguing that big data in itself is not a revolution but an evolution of the increasing availability of data that has been observed in recent times. Building on the authors' extensive academic and practical knowledge, this book aims to provide managers and analysts with strategic directions and practical analytical solutions on how to create value from existing and new big data.
Palgrave Dictionary of Emerging Markets and Transition Economics by Jens Hölscher (Editor); Horst Tomann (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015-10-21
This dictionary addresses the need to quickly find definitions and explanations of topics, institutions, personalities and processes in this historical phase of changing societies, which as such is not concluded. Today newly emerging market economies try to learn from the experiences of transition economies. This Dictionary uses an encyclopaedia-based approach, where articles not only define the terms but provide an overview of the evolution of the term or theory and also touch on the current debates.
The 100 Most Important American Financial Crises by Quentin R. Skrabec
Publication Date: 2014-12-09
Covering events such as banking crises, economic bubbles, natural disasters, trade embargoes, and depressions, this single-volume encyclopedia of major U.S. financial downturns provides readers with an event-driven understanding of the evolution of the American economy. Includes key primary documents, a chronology of key dates, an appendix of relevant sources, and an index organized by category, company names, and personal names
The Minimum Wage: a Reference Handbook by Oren M. Levin-Waldman
Publication Date: 2015-12-31
This unbiased look at the minimum wage debate in America traces the history of minimum wage policy at both the federal and state levels, discusses the controversies swirling around the issue, and examines the veracity of claims made by people on both sides of the debate.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society by Frederick F. Wherry (Editor); Juliet B. Schor (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016-01-06
Although there are encyclopedias of covering economics (especially classic economic theory and history) the SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society emphasizes the contemporary world, contemporary issues, and society. It features four volumes with approximately 800 signed articles ranging from 1,000 to 5,000 words each are presented in a choice of print or electronic editions.
Worldmark Global Business and Economy Issues by Miranda Herbert Ferrara
Publication Date: 2015-09-22
Worldmark Global Business And Economy Issues covers current business and economic issues that have an impact globally. Arranged alphabetically by topic (V1: Business & Management; V2: Economy), the set illustrates the breadth of each issue globally. Entries have standard subheads that allow for a 360 degree view of the topic being covered.
Significant New Editions
The Oxford Handbook of Banking by Allen N. Berger (Editor); Philip Molyneux (Editor); John O. S. Wilson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015-01-13
The Oxford Handbook of Banking, Second Edition provides an overview and analysis of developments and research in banking written by leading researchers in the field. The book strikes a balance between abstract theory, empirical analysis, and practitioner, and policy-related material.