How to Find Books
Library of Congress call number ranges:
HF5410 - 5417.5 Marketing, product distribution
HF5437 - 5444 Purchasing, selling
HF5801 - 6182 Advertising
HD 9000-9999 Special industries & trades (for marketing of a particular product)
Library of Congress subject headings:
- Marketing
- Internet marketing
- [Product/service] -- Marketing
- Market research
- Advertising
- Advertising media planning
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Dictionary of Marketing Terms (1995- )American Marketing Association.
Continuously updated online dictionary. Includes decent "see also" references. Based on the 1995 print version.
Dictionary of Advertising and Marketing Concepts by ISBN: 9781611329865Publication Date: 2013-08-31From AdBusters to viral marketing, this brief dictionary of ideas and concepts contains over 100 extended, illuminating entries to bring the novice up to speed on the advertising/marketing world and the ideas that underlie it.
Essential Marketing and Advertising Dictionary (2009) by ISBN: 9781572487031Sphinx Dictionaries.
Good coverage, with over 5,500 entries. Also available as an app for iOS.
Dictionary of Marketing Terms (2008) by ISBN: 9780764139352Barron's.
More than 4,000 marketing terms written for a diverse audience of advertising and marketing professionals, small business owners, and college students.
A Dictionary of Marketing (2016) by ISBN: 0198736428A Dictionary of Marketing is an accessible and wide-ranging A-Z, providing over 2,500 entries on topics spanning terms for traditional marketing techniques.
Topical Dictionaries
- Internet Marketing GlossaryOrganized Shopping, LLC.
One of the oldest internet marketing resources & is continually updated. Includes definitions and links to related resources. - Digital Video Advertising GlossaryInteractive Advertising Bureau (IAB).
Intended to keep the video industry on the same page with respect to the lexicon of terms used in business and communication. New terms will be added and others updated within this living document to reflect the changing landscape.
Sign up for a free account.
Dictionary of Marketing Communications (2004) by ISBN: 9780761927716Sage.
Over 4,000 entries on the promotions side of marketing. Topics include advertising, sales promotion, public relations, and direct marketing. Written by a business professor based upon observed student needs.
The Fairchild Dictionary of Retailing, 2nd ed. (2008) by ISBN: 9781563673443Fairchild Books.
Over 10,000 entries covering the retail industry from advertising to merchandising. Intended for students, faculty, and practitioners. A BRASS Noteworthy Business Reference Source for 2010.
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies (2015) by ISBN: 162892148XThis volume seeks to make its twenty-first century readers more media literate, as well as more critical consumers of modern news.
Encyclopedias:
The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising (2002) by ISBN: 9781579581725Fitzroy Dearborn.
A collaborative effort by Advertising Age, Duke University, and the Museum of Broadcast Communications. Features over 600 entries and color reproductions. Topics include theory, strategy, and practice, as well as major ad agencies, brands, campaigns, and prominent professionals.
International Encyclopedia of Marketing (2011) by ISBN: 9781405161787Wiley.
Over 350 entries ranging from brief synopses to essays with references. 6 volumes cover marketing strategy, research, consumer behavior, advertising and integrated communication, product innovation and management, and international issues. A BRASS Noteworthy Business Reference Source for 2011.
Websites & Digital Collections
- Ad*Access This link opens in a new windowThe Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on the following: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty & Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University.
- KnowThisProvides the basic principles of marketing and advertising in clear, concise tutorials. Also links out to other web resources for advertising, selling, promotion, and research.
- 9 Marketing Blogs for Industry News and Trends — 2022 ListFrom basics to expert analysis, these blogs can help keep you informed on the latest marketing developments.
- MarketingChartsA hub of marketing data, graphics, and analyses for professionals in and around marketing.
- AdViewsA digital collection of thousands of vintage television commercials from the 1950s to the 1980s.
- ClickZStats: Trends & StatisticsClickZStats provides a collection of online facts and statistics which have been gathered from secondary sources. Includes brief articles on different marketing channels, demographics, and audience as well as CPM, CPA, and ROI calculators.
- Green BookFind market research providers, suppliers and consultants by specialty and geographic location. Direct links to each company's website are provided. An advanced search feature is available.
