Suggested Search Terms:
business communication, corporate communication, communication(s), communication in management, communication in organizations, industrial communication, digital communications, intercultural communication
Narrower: business presentations, business writing, business etiquette, electronic mail messages, body language, public speaking
Business Communications Reference Books:
Workplace communication: Promoting workplace wellbeing and interpersonal relationships in multicultural contexts by ISBN: 9780367332679Publication Date: 2023"Workplace Communication highlights how we can build interpersonal relationships through effective communication and why this is essential to workplace wellbeing. Well-supported by contemporary, reputable empirical studies, the book also comes with exercises and open-ended questions based on the subject matter."
Strategic Writing: Multimedia Writing for Public Relations, Advertising and More by ISBN: 0367895404Publication Date: 2020This practical, multidisciplinary text teaches high-quality public relations and media writing with clear, concise instructions for more than 40 types of documents. Chapters cover topics such as ethical and legal aspects of strategic writing, including diversity and inclusion, with additional document samples and coverage of writing for various social media platforms.
Style Guide for Business WritingISBN: 1547416181Publication Date: 2018The Style Guide for Business Writing, Second Edition, is designed specifically to assist business writers in both the public and private sector, including those publishing with English as a second language; authors of academic papers; business book authors; financial journalists; and writers of reports, proposals or even just e-mail and memoranda. This book provides a comprehensive guide to clear and precise writing that will help develop basic communication skills for the beginner, and refresh the basics for the experienced business writer.
Excellence in Business Communication by ISBN: 9780134319056Publication Date: 2016Following in the wake of the digital revolution and the advent of social media, business communication has been hit by yet another revolutionary change: the rise of mobile communication. In this Twelfth Edition of Boveé and Thill's Excellence in Business Communication, the most significant and recent technology-related changes affecting the business world are thoroughly discussed.
HBR Guide to Better Business Writing by ISBN: 9781422184035Publication Date: 2013The HBR Guide to Better Business Writing, by writing expert Bryan A. Garner, gives you the tools you need to express your ideas clearly and persuasively so clients, colleagues, stakeholders, and partners will get behind them. This book will help you: * Push past writer's block * Grab--and keep--readers' attention * Earn credibility with tough audiences * Trim the fat from your writing * Strike the right tone * Brush up on grammar, punctuation, and usage
Guide to Managerial Communication by ISBN: 9780132971331Publication Date: 2014Directed primarily toward undergraduate or graduate business or communications students, this text also provides practical content to current and aspiring industry professionals. A brief, professional, reader-friendly guide to improving managerial communication. Guide to Managerial Communication is a clear, concise, practical text for cultivating effective written and oral communication in a managerial, business, government, or professional context.
The AMA Handbook of Business Writing by ISBN: 081441589XPublication Date: 2010This work is separated in to three sections: the writing, a business writer's alphabetical reference, and sample business documents.
Business Communications Periodicals:
- Business and Professional Communication Quarterly"Business and Professional Communication Quarterly is the only refereed journal devoted solely to the teaching of communication in the workplace."
- International Journal of Business Communication"The International Journal of Business Communication publishes manuscripts that contribute to knowledge and theory of business communication as a distinct, multifaceted field approached through the administrative disciplines, the liberal arts, and the social sciences."
- Management Communication QuarterlyInternational in scope, Management Communication Quarterly is published quarterly and provides research from across the organizational and management communication fields.
Databases for Finding Business Communications Articles:
The following resources are subscription databases that can be used to search for business communication articles. Check your public or academic library to see if they subscribe to these databases.
- ABI/Inform (ProQuest)Provides coverage of business conditions, management techniques, corporate strategies and trends, and product and competitor information. Coverage varies by specific database (Complete, Global, Research, Trade & Industry, Dateline).
- Academic Search (EBSCO)"This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles."
- Business Source (EBSCO)Major competitor to ABI/Inform. Coverage varies by database but all provide access to hundreds, if not thousands, of business publications (peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, regional business, etc.) that cover management topics. Different versions of this database provide increasing number of resources: Elite, Premier, Complete, and the most comprehensive version, Ultimate. Some colleges and universities provide access to an Alumni Edition that contains few sources and a shorter backlog than versions appropriate for undergraduate or graduate school research.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)"This database offers information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields, with abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text from more 240 titles."
- One Business (ProQuest)"Comprehensive database with a variety of sources, including journals, newspapers, company, market and industry research reports, business cases, dissertations, books, ebooks, and streaming video."
Business Communications Associations & Organizations:
- Association for Business Communication"The Association for Business Communication (ABC) is an international, interdisciplinary organization committed to advancing business communication research, education, and practice."
- International Association of Business CommunicatorsIABC is a global association of communication professionals.
- Toastmasters InternationalPublic speaking tips for events including giving sales pitches, introducing a speaker, giving and accepting awards. Includes a video library and leadership articles.
