AGA aims to create a better understanding of the gaming entertainment industry by bringing facts about the industry to the general public, elected officials, other decision makers and the media through education and advocacy. The AGA represents the commercial casino entertainment industry by addressing federal legislative and regulatory issues affecting its members and their employees and customers, such as federal taxation, Internet gambling, and travel and tourism matters.
The largest repository of English-language materials on gambling, this is an unparalleled repository of books, journals, and primary materials for gaming research. This includes statistics on the state level for casinos and gambling across the US, press-releases, news, white papers, and trend reports.
The National Indian Gaming Association is a non-profit organization of 184 Indian Nations with other non-voting associate members representing organizations, tribes and businesses engaged in tribal gaming enterprises from around the country. NIGA operates as a clearinghouse and educational, legislative and public policy resource for tribes, policymakers and the public on Indian gaming issues and tribal community development. NIGA works with the Federal government and Congress to develop sound policies and practices and to provide technical assistance and advocacy on gaming-related issues.
Casinos are establishments where people can participate in various forms of gambling, and the casino industry generates high revenues from these activities. Global casinos had a projected gross gaming yield of around 115 billion U.S. dollars in 2016, and this figure was forecasted to reach 130 billion U.S. dollars in 2019. Social casino gamers are also on the rise. It was estimated that the global social casino market would grow to 3.2 billion U.S. dollars in 2018, up from 3.18 billion the previous year.
Most of the accounting and financial reporting practices of entities undertaking gaming or gaming-related activities (collectively referred to as "gaming entities") are essentially the same as those of other industries. However, some activities of gaming entities are unique. Developed by leading experts, this guide delivers "how-to" strategies for handling audit and accounting issues common to entities in the gaming industry, so accounts and financial managers can provide high-quality services to their clients. Updated for recent auditing standards, this guide summarizes new standards, guidance and practices, explaining the numerous activities specific to gaming entities and provides information regarding accounting and auditing for many types of gaming industry issues. Also included are illustrative independent auditor's reports and financial statements of both a non-governmental gaming entity and a governmental gaming entity. Key benefits include: Provides important technical guidance, summarizes new standards and practices, and delivers how-to advice for handling audit and accounting issues that will be critical to your success. Offers clear and practical guidance on recent developments in areas such as online gaming and governmental gaming entities. Includes helpful industry coverage of the New Jersey Casino Redevelopment Authority, currency transaction reporting in the gaming industry, the tribal gaming industry, lotteries, and analytical procedures and internal controls unique to the gaming industry. Includes an appendix that highlights FASB ASU No. 2014-09, Revenue from Contracts with Customers (Topic 606). Includes an appendix that contains the finalized revenue recognition implementation issues specific to gaming entities.
CHOOSING A CAREER IS NOT A GAME. Except when it is. Casino gaming has exploded in the United States over the past few decades, creating thousands of new jobs for dedicated careerists who would like to take a sure bet on an exciting career. Nearly 200,000 people are employed in gaming today, and you could become one of them.Historically a niche business legal in only a few places, the gaming industry now has outposts across the country ranging from bars in South Dakota with a few slot machines to the over-the-top mega-casinos of the Las Vegas Strip. The gaming industry has grown rapidly, fed by demand for safe and legal gaming, and by the state and local governments that regulate casinos and depend upon the tax revenue they generate. Jobs specifically devoted to gaming include dealers and gaming supervisors who run the games and gaming floors where patrons partake of games. The business has also created demand for legions of careerists in associated hospitality fields, especially restaurants, hotels, security and live music and theater. Although this report will touch upon opportunities in these related industries, it will concentrate on those careers specifically related to gaming.
Casino Management in Integrated Resorts introduces students to the changing nature of casino businesses within the framework of an integrated resort or hospitality organisation. In the new integrated casino model, casinos play an important role not only in revenue generation but in supporting the other amenities in the resort including bars, restaurants, hotels and theme parks. This book brings readers up to speed with the challenges of managing a casino within this rapidly expanding gaming-leisure-tourism industry. It covers a range of essential topics such as the basic psychology of casino gaming, the role and history of casinos within an integrated resort, staffing, floor design, table and slot game management, control and security, marketing and social impact. Written in an accessible style, this book is suitable for readers with no prior knowledge of, or experience in, casino operations. It will be an essential introductory yet comprehensive resource for all those undertaking casino management courses. r all those undertaking casino management courses.
The marketing guru of Caesars/Harrah's shows how you can double-down and win with a proven data-driven approach Walking through Caesars in Las Vegas may seem like a dream--the lights are not too bright, the temperature is perfect, and everything is within your reach. But behind this "magical" experience is a carefully choreographed performance based on deep understanding and rigorous analysis of extensive data to help ensure guests have an incredible and personalized experience. The Caesars marketing story is recognized as one of the best examples of using data to improve the customer experience and marketing effectiveness in all of business. Marketing legend David Norton orchestrated the initiatives that made Harrah's/Caesars Entertainment one of the greatest marketing companies in the world. His approach of using data to identify opportunities for the business, developing the narrative to sell throughout the organization and partnering with various constituents to drive successful implementation operationally is unparalleled. In The High Roller Experience, he shares his secrets to creating an unbeatable marketing strategy. In addition to discussing core items such as analytics, CRM and loyalty programs, he examines the leadership and organizational processes required to create a customer-centric and data informed business. The author also shares case studies from the work at GALE helping companies leverage technology advances to improve the customer experience and build customer loyalty across a wide-range of industries. With this book to guide you, you'll learn how to use loyalty programs, analytics, and technology to drive phenomenal transformational change and rapid revenue growth within your own organization.