Sponsored by the BRASS Education Committee.
Last Updated: Mar 28, 2013
Includes news, analysis, feature articles, and data on stocks, funds, bonds, and financial markets.
Provides links to Fortune, Money and Fortune Small Business magazines, as well as for CNN’s business coverage of financial, business, and industry-specific news for US and world markets.
Financial gateway for the individual investor with information on stocks, bonds, mutual funds, money markets, etc.
- Yahoo! Finance
Find the latest company news and company profiles, excellent charts, key statistics, financial statements, current and historical stock quotes going back to 1986, top ten competitors and SEC filings.
- Zacks Investment Research
While not all information is for free, you can search by ticker to find company reports including charts, earning estimates, fundamental ratios, industry ratios and growth rates.
- Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA)
FINRA provides comprehensive market data on equities, options and a wide range of bonds. It also helps investors build their financial knowledge and provides them with essential tools to better understand the markets and basic principles of saving and investing.
Includes educational content on investing and personal finance covering topics such as stocks, mutual funds, retirement planning, portfolio management, estate planning, taxes, and finding a financial advisor.
- Investor Information
Created by the Securities and Exchange Commission's Office of Investor Education and Assistance, this page has links to SEC tips and publications that will help users to "invest wisely and avoid costly mistakes and fraud." It also has suggestions on doing research, interactive tools to look at mutual funds and publicly traded companies, information on filing complaints, and links to other investor education sites.
Investopedia provides a wealth of information on investing and allows users to look at it based on where they are in their investing life: as a beginner, experienced investor, active trader or preparing for retirement. There are tutorials, an investment game, a dictionary, research material and more.
- Investor's Clearinghouse
The Alliance for Investor Education’s Investor’s Clearinghouse provides information on investing and financial markets, including educational material and links to other investment websites. Alliance members include the American Association of Individual Investors, the Chartered Financial Analyst Institute, the New York Stock Exchange and the Federal Reserve, among others.
MoneyChimp provides clear explanations on topics such as how to read an annual report, valuation methods, portfolios and index analysis, among others. Find calculators here as well as a section on "How Finance Works." Use their Chimp-a-Go-Go feature to learn something random.
- Path to Investing
The Foundation for Investor Education’s Path to Investing site is a collection of material covering all aspects of investing for individuals and families. Clear, in-depth explanations of all things related to investing are provided as is a stock market simulation game called the Investor Challenge.
- Tomorrow's Money
Created by the Bond Market Association, this site provides basic information on personal finance, economic and consumer concepts to help people learn how to save and invest. A sister site, Coping with Unwarranted Change offers advice to people facing financial decision-making related to unexpected life changes such as loss of a spouse or a job, sudden disability, etc.
Edited and updated each year, previous maintainers of this guide include: Leticia Camacho, Brigham Young University, Shikha Sharma, University of Connecticut; Celia Ross (Columbia College, Chicago; Dennis Smith, University of Pittsburgh. It was originally compiled by Jennifer Boettcher, Georgetown University.