2010 Best of the Best Business Websites Award Winner
United Nations statistical databases (33 in all, at last count) are accessible through a single entry point. These databases, tables and glossaries contain over 60 million data points and a wide range of themes, such as Agriculture, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Tourism, Trade, and Millennium Development Goals indicators. *BRASS Best of the Best Business Websites Winner, 2010
Comprehensive, central source for online statistics on United Nations member countries. Includes links to other international agencies and national statistical bureaus. Commodity and other trading data, census and demographic data, country data, national accounts data and social indicators are just a small selection!
"The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available." International Financial Statistics (IFS) are very popular - GDP growth, imports/exports, unemployment rate etc. Balance of payment information, debt statistics, commodities prices, and more. Macroeconomic data by nation.
2013 Best of the Best Business Websites Award Winner
These datasets are mainly focused on development indicators, but these include economy & growth indicators (GDP, GNI, inflation, etc.), financial sector indicators (bank capital to asset ratios, FDI net inflow, interest rates, market capitalization of listed companies...), infrastructure indicators (ICT statistics, cellular phone use, vehicle ownership statistics, % paved roads, etc.) and trade indicators, among others. *BRASS Best of the Best Business Websites Winner, 2013
"The OFFSTATS database provides access to free statistics from official sources on the web." provides links to official organizations around the world that provide "freely and easily accessible" current statistical data (and some time series). Arrangement is by country, region, and subject. Statistical sources cover vital statistics, industries, trade, economics, labor, energy, tourism, health, crime, education, social indicators, and more. Basically a massive portal with links to official statistical sources for countries around the world - some are more or less updated, but a good place to go if you're looking for statistics on a less-covered country or topic.
From the U.S. International Trade Administration, the 'National Trade Data' section provides statistics U.S. merchandise exports, imports and trade balances with partner nations around the world. Global patters of U.S. merchandise trade (aggregate) or view product profiles of U.S. merchandise trade with a selected market.
This data portal is still in development (beta phase) but has some interesting statistics not found elsewhere. Looking for teacher's salaries worldwide? This is the place. Public pension expenditure, percent of women researchers, road fatalities, property tax rates...
Easy access to data and metadata for OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) and selected member countries. Uses four search methods: Keyword (with terms such as: Education, Finance, GDP, Health, Income, Prices, Population, or Trade), Theme, Country (via selection of key indicators in latest annual, Country Statistical Profiles), or access your saved queries under “Browse Queries.”
2012 Best of the Best Business Websites Award Winner
Links with annotations to individual countries and international business topics (such as trade information and economic trends), original articles, plus dynamic tables for country comparison. The most comprehensive of international business portals, from the Center for International Business Education and Research (CIBER) at Michigan State University. *BRASS Best of the Best Business Websites Winner, 2012
Website of the Statistical Office of the European Communities, providing extensive statistical data and publications on EU countries. Browse or search and download predefined data and tables focused on: EU policy indicators; general and regional statistics; economy and finance; population and social conditions; industry, trade and services; agriculture and fisheries; external trade; transport; environment and energy; and, science and technology.
Data and metadata on labor statistics for over 200 countries or territories. Statistics are arranged by topic, country, or International Labor Organization publication. Country annual statistical data are available from 1999-2008, and include economically active population by industry and occupation, total employment by occupation, unemployment by economic activity, hours of work by economic activity, wages in manufacturing, and much more.
Major reports on economic development, global finances, and investments, with statistical data and key information about countries worldwide. From UNCTAD, the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development.
Data dissemination system with free access to comprehensive statistical time series and indicators essential for the analysis of world trade, investment, international financial flows, and development.
Could be used to explore market share, segmentation, etc.; also hosts information on consumer trends and lifestyles, income and expenditures and population and homes; global or by-country reports and datasets.
European Marketing Data and Statistics 2014 is Euromonitor's best-selling reference book; the book presents comparable demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 44 European countries. Statistics researched range from advertising, health, media and leisure to home ownership, external trade and population trends.
While some resources are available for purchase, there are also a number of free reports on topics ranging from marketing statistics for Asia to the state of digital brand advertising. The site also includes a Facts & Statistics section.
Subscription database focused on "research, insights and benchmarks for marketing in a digital world." Coverage area reports focus on such areas as average time spent with digital media in country XYZ.