BRASS Business Guide - INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS

Find background information and current news on individual countries and regions. Site is provided by the BBC, the British Broadcasting Corporation.

Provides basic information about most countries, including geography, the people, government, economic conditions, transportation and communication data, and the military.

Sections of country reports include: culture & customs, economy, government, demographics, geography, history, current events and more.

Includes subcategories, organizing individual countries into lists by continent/region. Brief entries covering geography, climate, ethnic groups, languages, religions, major economic drivers, transportation, telecommunications and more...

The online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine Europa Regional Surveys of the World; premier source for "economic, political and geographic background information and statistical data by country, and includes thousands of directory contact details with click-through web links and a comprehensive listing of more than 2,000 international organizations."

LANIC’s plentiful information portal allows for keyword searching or browsing by Latin American country or region. Country subdivisions related to business: Economy/Finance, General, Government, History, News/Newspapers, Organizations, Politics, Portals, and Travel/Tourism. Maintained by the University of Texas at Austin.

Country profiles include news, economic forecast reports and data (mainly major development and economic indicators). Country data can be browsed by topic and you can chart it against benchmarks.

Some pages have more or less information; always a link to the U.S. Bilateral Relations Factsheet, which gives a brief, historical overview of U.S. economic and political relations with the nation...

Profiles of World Bank member countries; include news and blogs, data, photos and information on current World Bank projects and programs.

Country culture and business etiquette source, with a Canadian slant. Select a country or a region, and then link to country facts or cultural information in a Q&A format.

Coverage focuses on the culture of the country; religion, personal appearance, greetings, etiquette for visiting and eating, family, dating, diet and recreation information and more...

Comprehensive directory listing of contact resources for all diplomatic offices. Separate indexes exist for: Embassies and Consulates, arranged by nation; U. S. Embassies Worldwide, arranged by nation; and, UN Permanent Missions. The directory is clearly laid out and fully cross-indexed, and is designed to search both host location and hosted embassy from dual query boxes.

This guide from Northwestern University provides links to the official government websites of countries around the world; find relevant government and institution sites by region or individual country.

An excellent LibGuide from the Northwestern University Library; provides links to official websites of national governments for countries around the world.

While this database does not get down to individual product pricing data, it gives aggregate data regarding the total size of a particular market within a particular nation, and further breaks that into market segmentation data and market shares held by various players. Also explores the GDP, CPI and exchange rates between selected nations.

Cost of living information for nearly 5,000 cities around the world. Note: This site appears to have a wiki component (individuals can edit data for the cities).

An all-around excellent resource for international business-related information. But also includes industry reports by country and, depending on the industry, often PRICING information, occasionally even down to the by-product level.

Country Commercial Guides provide a TON of information intended to assist individuals looking to do business in a particular nation. As well as general background information on countries, coverage includes specifics regarding: Selling U.S. Products and Services, Leading Sectors for U.S. Export and Investment, Trade Regulations, Customs and Standards, Trade and Project Financing and more!

An unbeatable source for country, industry and risk information. Country profiles focus mainly on politics, the economy and risk (sovereign, currency, political, banking sector and economic structure risk...). Data section allows you to build custom reports with fiscal and monetary indicators, demographics and income, external trade data and more.

Links to the homepages for U.S. Commercial Services offices in countries around the world.

Macroeconomic statistics, but essential information if one is considering investing or doing long-term business in a foreign country.

The official global chamber directory, with over 12,000 chambers representing more than 40 million member businesses and boards of trade worldwide. Keyword search by typing in country name, industry, or product. From the listed results, selections provide group’s description and activities, plus contact information and web page.

Compare business locations in Asia-Pacific, Europe, and North America for more than 100 cities from 10 major countries based on biannual studies by KPMG, 1996-2016. Measures the combined impact of 26 key business cost components and their variation by location. The study also compares data on a variety of non-cost competitiveness factors.