Sponsored by the BRASS Education Committee.
Last Updated: Mar 28, 2013
- American Council of Life Insurers
A life insurance association web site that includes a section for consumers. It provides detailed guides about the different types of life insurance. Useful for consumers as well as professionals. http://www.acli.com/
- American Insurance Association
Advocacy and educational material for learning about property and casualty insurance with links to policy reports and other key organizations. http://www.aiadc.org/
- Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America
Links to consumer information, state associations, and current issues in education and government affairs, and directory information.
- National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
NAIC represents U.S. insurance regulators from the 50 states, the District of Columbia and the four U.S. territories. This site provides a directory of state government insurance departments, as well as consumer and industry information. Useful for consumers and professionals. http://www.naic.org/
Provides news, a learning center and events directory, and portals for many kinds of health insurance. Sponsored by America’s Health Insurance Plans (AHIP), an association of 1,300 American companies providing health insurance to more than 200 million Americans. Useful for consumers and professionals. http://www.healthdecisions.org/
- Insurance Information Institute
An excellent source of factual information and basic industry data about the industry. Covers auto, home, business, life, disabilities, disasters, statistics, industry financials, hot topics, media, and more. Useful for consumers and professionals. http://www.iii.org
- Insurance Institute for Highway Safety/Highway Loss Data Institute
The IIHS and HLDI are responsible for studying highway safety in the hope of reducing auto related accidents, fatalities, and damage to property. Its research often has important industry and public policy implications. The IIHS web site provides studies, news, and other highway safety information. Useful for researchers, professionals, and consumers. http://www.hwysafety.org
This site provides quotes for all types of insurance. It also provides introductory articles and FAQs on insurance. Intended for the general consumer. http://www.insure.com
Another site to compare insurance. It provides quotes for auto, life, health, homeowners, and renters insurance, among a few others. http://www.esurance.com
- National Underwriter Company
Trade publisher for the leading magazines in the insurance industry for both life/health and property/casuality. http://cms.nationalunderwriter.com/
- U.S. Census Health Insurance Data
Data on health insurance coverage, reports, working papers, coverage that brings together all the Census data collected on health insurance. http://www.naic.org/
Previously maintained by Malcolm Brantz, Arapahoe Community College; Steven Cramer, University of North Carolina - Greensboro. List originally compiled by Joseph Straw, University of Akron.