A great site with news articles on online travel, internet marketing, and hospitality industry topics. Articles are organized by date and topic. Users can also subscribe to a daily e-newsletter. All content is free and updated daily.
The Scholarly Commons is a digital repository service for the School of Hotel Administration at Cornell University, provided by the Nestlé Library and the Hospitality, Labor, and Management Library. The Scholarly Commons provides access to the scholarly output of the School of Hotel Administration, including its research centers and institutes. Full-text, peer-reviewed articles on a variety of hospitality topics are available for immediate download.
The web site for AHLA, which represents the hotel and lodging industry. Some free content, some only available to members. For free content, there is information on government regulations relating to travel and lodging, events and conferences, a career center, diversity resources, industry history and news, and a list of the top 50 hotel companies.
Includes resources on news and trends on many topics relating to hospitality, including technology, food, beverages and lodging. Also contains job listings, newsletters, and lists of suppliers and events.
The Lodging Industry Research Guide from Cornell University Libraries. Includes recommended resources for researching the hotel industry, companies, consumers, statistics, trends, books, associations, articles, news, and more. Some of the resources recommended on this guide are freely available.
PKF Consulting is a company that advises and informs workers in the hotel industry with the data they collect. Much on the site is for a fee, but they have excellent industry reports that are free. They also collect industry news. You'll find a list of the most recent reports, along with a link to archived data.
Fee-based database that provides industry reports for over US 700 industries, categorized by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). Each report provides key statistics, market characteristics and segmentation, industry conditions, leading competitors, industry performance analysis and future outlook. Relevant reports include Hotels & Motels in the US, Hotel Construction, All-Inclusive Vacation Resorts, Boutique Hotels, Casino Hotels, Bed & Breakfast Accommodations, Global Hotels & Reports, Hotels in China, and Motels in China.
Information on the resort and time share industry includes overviews, news, and articles from Developments magazine, a journal for the resort industry. Other reports and content available to members only.
Foundations of Lodging Management explores how the lodging industry and the hotels in the industry operate. KEY FEATURES: With coverage of both small and large hotels, it addresses each department, including the front office, sales and marketing, housekeeping, maintenance and more! This edition features more on green initiatives and expanded discussion of revenue optimization.
For the Introduction to Hotel Operations or Introduction to Lodging course in Hospitality Management departments. Prepare future hotel general managers to efficiently supervise and run a midsize full-service hotel. Hotel Operations Management provides an up-to-date and comprehensive examination of all aspects of hotel administration from the viewpoint of the hotel general manager. Detailed information addresses the operating departments of a full-service hotel: Human Resources; Controller; The Front Office; Housekeeping; Food and Bevera≥ Safety and Property Security; Sales and Marketing; Accounting; and Facility Engineering and Maintenance. In-depth discussions highlight the importance of human resources in the labor-intensive hotel industry, franchising and contract management of properties in an ever-decreasing "Mom and Pop" segment, and hotel management in a global environment. Updated throughout to ensure that readers have the latest information, the Third Edition also includes new case studies, an entirely new chapter on guest services, and new end-of-chapter questions. This accurate book will give prospective hotel managers insight into all of the procedures effective managers use to ensure their hotel¿'s--and their own--success.
Chapters cover a myriad of timely hotel investment topics including key industry trends, establishing an investment program, managing the investment, e-commerce, revenue management, best practices in food and beverage profitability, key legal issues, and sustainability. - See more at: https://www.ahlei.org/Products/Books/Hotel-Investments-Issues-and-Perspectives/#sthash.Ywvcptd3.dpuf
The Economic Ascent of the Hotel Business is about the hotel business and the economic contexts in which it has evolved. Slattery presents an understanding of the structural development of the economies in which hotels operate and which provide the potential for hotel demand and supply to grow.
Outlines essential planning and design considerations based on the latest data, supported by technical information and many original floor plans. The authors describe and illustrate different types of hotels, at different locations--downtown, suburban, airport, --with different mixes of facilities--casino, convention, conference centers--and provide analysis and theory to support each of the major trends, highlighting how the designers' work fits into the industry's development as a whole.