Sponsored by the BRASS Education Committee.
The hospitality industry may be defined in narrower or broader terms to include lodging, foodservice, casinos, resorts, theme parks, and/or travel and tourism.
The Nestlé Library at the Cornell University offers a number of research guides on different sectors of the hospitality industry:
- Hospitality Industry
Largely a directory of suppliers for the hospitality industry, this site also includes industry links with information and news.
- Hospitality Net
A comprehensive site including industry news, free market reports, information on professional associations, and much more. A very valuable site to explore!
The website for the publication, Travel+Leisure, this resource contains articles, directories and descriptions for hotels, destinations and restaurants, and lists for the World's Best Awards, which rate the best hotels, restaurants, cities, and travel agents.
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete (Ebsco)
This collection contains full text for nearly 560 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books. Full-text periodicals include Journal of Hospitality & Tourism Education, Hosteur, Asia Pacific Journal of Tourism Research, Current Issues in Tourism, International Journal of Tourism Research, Journal of Sustainable Tourism, Leisure Sciences, Nation's Restaurant News, Restaurant Business and many more. Subjects covered include culinary arts, development & investment, food & beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management, leisure & business travel, market trends, technology and more.
- Mintel Oxygen
Market research reports for products, markets and demographics. Analysis includes market sizes and forecasts, market trends, market segmentation, competitive context, broken down segment performances, retail channels, consumer demographics and survey results, leading companies, brand share, marketing strategies, and more. Contains numerous U.S. and international hotel and hospitality reports. Hotels- US, International Hotel Industry, Boutique Hotels in the US, Hotel Technology International, The Middle Eastern Hotel sector, Hotels in China, The Caribbean Hotel Sector, Indian Luxury Hotel Sector, Casino Hotels, and more.
- PKF Hotel Horizons
PKF Hospitality Research analyzes hotel segments across 50 U.S. metro areas. Includes historical, current, and foretasted data for RevPar (revenue per available room), ADR (average daily rates), occupancy rates, revenue, demand and supply.
Natasha Arguello, University of Texas at San Antonio
Penny Scott, University of San Francisco
James Cory Tucker, University of Nevada - Las Vegas