Each year, the Business Reference Sources Committee of BRASS selects the outstanding business reference sources published since May of the previous year. This year, the committee reviewed nine entries; of these, two were designated as “Outstanding,” six as “Notable,” and one as a “Notable New Edition.” To qualify for these designations, each title must meet the conventional definition of reference: a work compiled specifically to supply information on a certain subject or group of subjects in a form that will facilitate its ease of use. The works are examined for the following: authority and reputation of the publisher, author, or editor; accuracy; appropriate bibliography; organization; comprehensiveness; value of the content; currency; unique addition; ease of use for the intended purpose; quality and accuracy of index; and quality and usefulness of graphics and illustrations. Each year, more electronic reference titles are being published. Criteria for evaluating electronic reference titles include the following: accuracy of links, search features, stability of content, and graphic design. Selected works must also be suitable for medium and large academic and public libraries.
Finance for Normal People
by Meir Statman
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Finance for Normal People shows how behavioral finance offers numerous insights into the performance of investors and managers as well as the functioning of markets. Meir Statman, a founder of behavioral finance, provides a unified approach to understanding financial behavior. He draws on his extensive experience and the most insightful research to enhance our awareness about the short-cuts and errors that normal people make in financial decisions and planning.
The International Business Archives Handbook
by Alison Turton (Editor); Lesley Richmond
Publication Date: 2017-04-17
The International Business Archives Handbook provides up-to-date information and guidance on key issues relating to the understanding and management of the historical records of businesses. Key features include: Chapter contributions from a range of experts in their respective fields. Content covering business archive and business history initiatives around the world. Practical advice combined with thought-provoking discussion on issues hitherto little addressed. Useful quick-reference tables, global case study examples and further reading suggestions.
Research Handbook on Gender and Innovation
by Gry Agnete Alsos (Editor); Ulla Hytti (Editor); Elisabet Ljunggren (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016-09-30
This Handbook explores the nexus between innovation and gender by providing a wide range of studies from different analytical and methodological perspectives and from various regional and industry contexts and draws implications for a gender-inclusive innovation policy. The multidisciplinary group of contributors discuss topics such as gender and innovation in new and small businesses, and growth businesses; addressing innovation in different organizational contexts ranging from public sector health care to mining and forestry; researching gender in innovation policy and in design and materiality.
The Big Book of Dashboards
by Steve Wexler; Andy Cotgreave; Jeffrey Shaffer
Publication Date: 2017-04-24
The Big Book of Dashboards presents a comprehensive reference for those tasked with building or overseeing the development of business dashboards. Comprising dozens of examples that address different industries and departments (healthcare, transportation, finance, human resources, marketing, customer service, sports, etc.) and different platforms (print, desktop, tablet, smartphone, and conference room display), The Big Book of Dashboards matches great dashboards with real-world business scenarios.
The Data Industry
by Chunlei Tang
Publication Date: 2016-06-13
Provides an introduction of the data industry to the field of economics. This book bridges the gap between economics and data science to help data scientists understand the economics of big data, and enable economists to analyze the data industry. It begins by explaining data resources and introduces the data asset. This book defines a data industry chain, enumerates data enterprises' business models versus operating models, and proposes a mode of industrial development for the data industry.
Handbook on the Economics of the Internet
by Johannes M. Bauer (Editor); Michael Latzer (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016-05-27
This Handbook brings together twenty-seven original chapters that discuss theoretical and applied frameworks for the study of the economics of the Internet, encompassing: Its unique economics as a global information and communications infrastructure. The effects of the Internet on economic transactions, including social production, advertising, innovation, and intellectual property rights. The economics and management of Internet-based industries, such as search, news, entertainment, culture, and virtual worlds. The effects of the Internet on the economy at large.
The Routledge Companion to Business History
by Abe de Jong (Editor); Steven Toms (Editor); John Wilson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016-12-20
Drawing on a wealth of international contributions, The Routledge Companion to Business History expands the field and explores how business history interacts theoretically and methodologically with other fields. It charts the origins and development of business history and its global reach from Latin America and Africa, to North America and Europe. With this multi-perspective approach, it illustrates the unique contribution of business history and its relationship with a range of other disciplines, from finance and banking to gender issues in corporations.
The Startup Checklist
by David S. Rose; Bill Gross (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2016-04-25
While most entrepreneurship books focus on strategy, this invaluable guide provides the concrete steps that will get your new business off to a strong start. You'll learn the ins and outs of startup execution, management, legal issues, and practical processes throughout the launch and growth phases, and how to avoid the critical missteps that threaten the foundation of your business.
Noteable New Editions
Richard K. Miller & Associates Market Research Handbooks
by Richard K. Miller & Associates
Publication Date: Yearly Updates Available
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA), founded in 1972, publishes handbooks focused on marketing and the consumer marketplace. RKMA publishes 12 biennial market research handbooks, such as: Business-to-Business Marketing, Consumer Behavior and Consumer Marketing.