What are the best resources for finding key facts or a quick profile on a company?
These resources are ideal starting points when you are trying to find a quick snapshot of a company. The basic facts include address and phone number, annual sales, number of employees, type of business, chief executives, and year founded.
This popular source is perhaps the most respected guide to mutual funds. Morningstar provides a detailed overview for nearly 2000 mutual funds selected from the top investment firms and company profiles. Some free content is available on their website.
Stock quotes, up to date news, company profiles, portfolio management resources, international market data, message boards, and mortgage rates ..
How do I quickly find a company's address and phone number?
Many resources can be used to find a company’s address and phone number, including most of those mentioned elsewhere in this guide. Use any resources that are convenient for you. The resources listed here are chosen for their comprehensiveness.
Telephone Books: Often overlooked when thinking of “business” resources.
Please note that the databases below are subscription-based databases. Many university and public libraries have access to these databases, so please check with your local libraries to see what is available.
Includes company overview, history, products/operations on more than 18,500 public and private U.S. companies and international companies. Covers major industry trends, industry links, and IPO information.
Directory of public and private companies in the US and worldwide. Contact information, financials, key personnel. It provides information from Hoovers Online and Dun and Bradstreet but with additional downloading capabilities.
This database provides detailed financial statements for 150,000 private companies, 55,000 public companies, and 100 million companies worldwide. Users can build reports containing detailed standardized financial information or summary information, ownership details, graphics plus data from the other modules. Over 2,600 industry and 2,700 company profiles from Datamonitor. SEC filings, comprehensive shareholder and subsidiary info, stock data, dividend info, executive bios, SIC Code classification, 5-year forecast of earnings estimates.
Company information using many criteria, including geographic location, SIC, size of company, etc. Perfect for searching local companies! Can download up to 25 records at a time in various formats and import into spreadsheets, etc. Coverage of over 14 million U.S. businesses.