Sponsored by the BRASS Education Committee.
Last Updated: Aug 13, 2012
All business are legally required to file application and staments forms with their perspective Secretary of State office. This internet site includes links to Secretary of State Offices in each state of the U.S.
- Hoover's Corporate Register
This site gives links to company home pages. It also has a subscription service portion that contains profiles for 12 million companies, including 40,000 in-depth. The profiles include contact information, a review of the company, and more.
- Fortune 500
Search this list of links to companies or access the list in various ranked orders.
- Forbes Lists
Search the Forbes ranked lists of companies and other Forbes lists, including the "200 Best Small Companies," the "400 Best Big Companies," and the "International 500."
- Business Wire
Many news stories never make it into print, even in local or specialized publications. Consult electronic wire services for corporate press releases.
- ThomasNet (Thomas Register of Manufacturers)
Search across 607,000 manufacturers across the U.S. and Canada. A good resource for business-to-business information needs. Also provides a means to trace a brand name back to its manufacturer.
- Electronic Data Gathering Analysis and Retrieval (EDGAR)
Provides 10-K, 20-F, proxy statements, some annual reports, and other financial statements of public companies filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission.
- Yahoo! Finance
Organized by Yahoo!, this meta site links to information on U.S. markets, world markets, data sources, finance references, investment editorials, financial news, and other helpful Web sites.
- Stockmaster - (formerly MIT Experimental Stock Market Page)
With a "look-up" function by ticker symbol or name of the company, the site provides extensive investment information, including quotes, news, SEC filings, and earnings histories.
- Holt Stock Report
Daily reports provides market summary for 29 indexes and averages for domestic and international markets. Also includes a list of stocks most active that day on all of the exchanges. The archive has data going back to 1994.
- Big Charts
This commercial sources supplies a easy-to-use online charting and investment research Web sites providing access to interactive charts, quotes, reports and indicators on over 50,000 stocks, mutual funds, market indexes, and historical quotes back to 1985.
- Daily Stocks
A stock-screening site, with links to stock quotes, profiles, charts, news, SEC filings, market commentary and more.
- Public Register's Annual Report Service
America's largest annual report service which provides, free of charge, company financials, including annual reports, prospectuses or 10-Ks on over 3,600 public companies.
- Annual Report Service
FREE directory of online annual reports available on the web.
Previously maintained by: Paul Brothers, University of Alabama, Lee Pike, University of Alabama, Michael Oppenheim, UCLA, Les Kong, California State University, San Bernardino. List originally compiled by Jennifer Boettcher, Georgetown University