This guide is a list of the best Web sites in the field of small business, selected by members of the BRASS Education Committee.
Sponsored by the BRASS Education Committee.
Last Updated: Jun 6, 2012
- U.S. Small Business Administration
Official starting point for resources and programs offered by the SBA. Begins with Starting Your Business, Financing Your Business, and, Expanding Your Business. Includes links to most frequently asked start-up questions (FAQs), informative articles, a start-up kit, and locations of Small Business Development Centers throughout the U.S. This is the primary destination for seeking financing.
- U.S. Business Administration
A government site devoted to supporting small business concerns. It provides the basics, such as starting your business, hiring employees, legal and tax considerations, and other information. There is a section for minority- and women-owned small businesspeople. A topical section on small business issues such as disaster recovery, exiting a business and creating a green busines are included.
- Online Women's Business Center
Created in partnership with the U.S. Small Business Administration Office of Women's Business Ownership, this is an interactive business training web site for entrepreneurial women dedicated to the development of professional and personal skills. Content sections are marketing, finance, management, technology and procurement.
- Entrepreneur's Reference Guide to Small Business Information
The 3rd edition published in 1999 is compiled by the staff of the Business Reference Services' Science, Technology, and Business Division, Library of Congress. Each section lists print resources. Contents include: "Introduction, Getting Started, Raising Capital, Managing Your Business, Human Resources, Marketing, Doing Business with Government, International Opportunities, Research and Information Gathering, Looking At the Numbers, Handbooks and Guides, and Information about Companies.
- Entrepreneur.Com: The Online Small Business Authority
Maintained by Entrepreneur Magazine to support new business ideas and growing companies, it contains how-to guides and selected articles for business developers. EntrepreneurAssist is a free tool for new business owners. They can save articles, download forms, setup online meetings and more.
- Business Week: SmallBiz
A section of the Business Week web site, this resource offers tips, advice, and encouragement to small business owners. Articles are arranged into the following categories: Getting Started, Small Business Financing, Sales and Marketing, Leadership, Policy and Technology. This site also includes the content of the larger Business Week site.
- SCORE (Service Corps of Retired Executives)
The SCORE organization is a resource partner with the U.S. Small Business Administration. It assists in the formation, growth and success of small businesses nationwide. The organization offers mentoring, workshops, and business tools to business owners.
- Kauffman Center for Entrepreneurial Leadership
This site is a collaboration between the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation and the U.S. Commerce Department’s International Trade Administration (ITA), and consists of information and resources on best practices in global entrepreneurial leadership. The Fast Links allow researchers to quickly locate articles, videos and media on a variety of topics produced by leading foundations and entrepreneurial associations.
- Edward Lowe Peerspectives
Homepage of the Edward Lowe Foundation, devoted to championing the entrepreneurial spirit. Lowe, the inventor of Kitty Litter, established the foundation to promote his philosophy of “economic gardening” which is a strategy based on the idea that entrepreneurs drive the economy. The Entrepreneur’s Resource Center contains materials on Building and Inspiring an Organization, Defining and Serving a Market, Acquiring and Managing Finances, Human Resource Management, and Legal and Tax Issues.
"The Web's Leading Resource for Family Business Executives & Owners." This site tailors its information to family-controlled companies. The Family Business Search Engine provides 300 family business articles covering topics like Inter-Generational Issues, Sibling Rivalry, Strategic Planning and Non-Family Managers/Employees. It also links to other family business sites and "Best of the Web" articles.
- Idea Cafe: The Small Business Channel
A fun approach to serious business. Developed by successful entrepreneurs and authors of published guides on establishing a business, this site includes resources, ideas, practical advice, and business news. Sources are summarized and reviewed and include serious, yet informative sections like "Coffee Talk with Experts”), as well as fun information like "Yoga @ Your Desk."
- The Riley Guide: Steps in Starting Your Own Business
The Riley Guide, by Margaret F. Dikel, is a great resource for all things employment related. This site deals with small business concerns and contains links on how to obtain funding, dealing with legal concerns, getting started, and sources for getting help.
A great site for entrepreneurs and would-be business owners, this site has it all; community space, articles, podcasts, online seminars and other information on all things small business
This site contains sample business and marketing plans as well as articles related to starting a business. This site is hosted by PaloAlto software so it contains ads.
- Center for Business Planning - MOOT CORP Competition
Based out of the University of Texas at Austin, the MOOT CORP competition is a national event where MBA students write and develop business which are then judged by a panel of investors. This site has the full-text of the winning proposals.